Alexander - Prof pitching - London

Alexander

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate £80
  • Response Time 24h
See Pitching tutors

Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable

Alexander - Canonbury - Pitching

Super Prof

Alexander is one of our best tutors. They have a high-quality profile, verified qualifications, a quick response time, and great reviews from students!

About the lesson

I am a highly specialised tutor with 10+ years of experience helping students with everything from essay structure to interview technique.

I can also focus on managing a student's overall academic portfolio with them.

MA from Cambridge University.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

Theology and Religious Studies; Drama; History; English; Interview Technique and essay coaching. University Entrance.

I help with anything that a student might need and manage their academic progression holistically: Interview Tuition; Personal Statement/UCAS coaching (including bespoke Oxbridge admission/interviews); general confidence and presentation; essay writing, structure and examination technique. All of this is offered for University Level and beforehand.

Alex has coached children for entrance to Eton, King's Canterbury, St Paul's, Westminster and many others. All of his Oxbridge applicants from 2012/13 were successful.

Alex also offers day seminars to schools on interview technique and personal statements.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I have a MA Hons degree from Cambridge University in Theology and Religious Studies.

I have straight-A graded AS & A2 Levels.

Copies of all certificates and references are available on request. I also have multiple case studies available on how I have worked with students in the past and the results that we have achieved together.

- How much do you charge?

Free phone consultations provided.

Preliminary Trial lesson available at half price.

£53-110 / hr (dependent on level and subject.)

Online Tuition (all levels): £35-70 /hr
(e.g. over Skype, setting and marking work via email and providing detailed feedback - a good option for those outside of London.)

- Where do you teach?

I live in central London. I teach several students currently, but am always keen to only take on a few at a time in order to better my focus with each student.

I can be flexible about teaching hours and have a comfortable, quiet, central London club which is an excellent teaching venue for lessons.

- When are you available?

All weekdays: 9am-7pm.

Saturday/Sunday morning, afternoons and evenings as well on request.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

9-25 years old; students of all learning requirements.

11+; Common Entrance; GCSE; AS; A2; Degree level (Religious Studies)

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

Oxbridge Interview technique, universities entrance, schools entrance (prep and secondary) and preparation for specific courses.
Any specific requirements can be discussed and met.
11+; 13+; Common Entrance; GCSE; AS; A2; Degree level (Religious Studies).

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I tutor online in three stages:

1) Set work is prepared by the student, following a preparatory email (e.g. a passage read/essay guidelines given);
2) This work is analysed via detailed feedback notes and instructions; examination criteria provided and worked on.
3) The student and I then talk on Skype where we can have a more face-to-face discussion of the issues concerning the work set and syllabus difficulties.

This is an excellent way to make fast, steady progress, and is more affordable than face-to-face tuition.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

My methods are direct and adapted to whatever your particular areas that need improvement are; whether that is memory, exam technique or essay structure. We will find a way to make fast progress together. I have over ten years of tutoring experience, so you will be getting a tried and tested tutor. Unlike many older tutors, I am relatively young, fresh and dynamic and remember what it was like jumping through the hoops.

subjects

  • Pitching

languages

  • English

levels

  • Primary
  • Secondary
  • GCSE
  • +13

    AS Level

    A Level

    BTEC

    Adult education

    Undergraduate

    Masters

    Diploma

    Doctorate

    Beginner

    Intermediate

    Advanced

    Professional

    Kids

About Alexander

- What kind of experience do you have?

I have over ten years of tutoring experience with various tutoring firms and now as a private tutor.

I have helped over 100 students and now am able to work closely with a select few, depending on time availability. This allows me to focus and concentrate on the particular needs of the individual student.

I teach and lecture at schools a special day workshop on interview technique and personal statement coaching.

I have taught students in preparation for exams, and also tutored personal statements and application exams. Experience also teaching special educational needs students (such as Dyslexia and Dyspraxia.)

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

Yes.

A copy of this can be provided on request.

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

Angel Tutors; Fleet Tutors; Blue Tutors; Harrison Allen

- Tell me about some of your current students.

I am currently teaching four different students. Most of my students are attempting to gain entry to specific universities or competitive public schools; this is my specialist area.

I am currently helping a boy called Sam. He is at GCSE level and is being prepared for his upcoming exams. I am helping him with everything from essay technique to exam technique, with the end goal that his portfolio is managed up to the point when he applies to Oxford in two years time. It is an ongoing process but a rewarding one, and we have made lots of progress together in a focused environment.

I have just taught a crash course in Religious Studies to a boy called Michael. He received a grade A*.

I am teaching James and Daniel Theology-both are making fast progress with their respective syllabuses.

I am currently preparing a class of children for their Oxbridge entrance this December. I offer seminars and mock interviews as well as focused feedback.

I am teaching a girl called Rebecca entrance for Oxbridge.

I am teaching a girl called Elektra Theology and Religious Studies for A Level.

I am teaching Drama and Theatre Studies to a girl called Jessy and a boy called Mark.

I took four students for Oxbridge tuition before December and I am pleased to say that all four were awarded places.

References and contact details from current students (as well as past students) can be provided, if requested. These are only ever given on the permission of the client.

Rates

packages

  • 5h: £400
  • 10h: £800

webcam

  • £80/h

Take Pitching lessons with a private tutor

  • Job applications, aptitude tests (including NUMERICAL) and career advice from first hand experience!

    Haris

    London

    4.9 (16 reviews)
    • £40/h
  • University Lecturer, LSE-Grad, CFA, CQF, MSc in Finance | Learn to face job Interviews for entry/junior/trainee Investment Banking and Hedge Fund Analyst Roles

    Carlos

    London

    5 (10 reviews)
    • £125/h
    • 1hr free
  • Izo - Hammersmith - Pitching

    Izo

    London

    5 (10 reviews)
    • £70/h
  • Jayna - Stratford - Career Coaching

    Jayna

    Stratford

    5 (9 reviews)
    • £25/h
  • Eva-Jane - Professional Actor and Public Speaking Coach specialising in Audition and interview technique, Self Tape and Showreel coaching plus Professional development

    Eva-Jane

    Bounds Green

    5 (8 reviews)
    • £45/h
  • Timothy - Westbourne Grove - Pitching

    Timothy

    London

    5 (6 reviews)
    • £50/h
  • Engineering & Information Manager with 25 years of experience offers career coaching, professional transformation

    Gokhan

    London

    5 (6 reviews)
    • £50/h
  • Bethan - Highbury - Pitching

    Beth

    London

    5 (5 reviews)
    • £50/h
  • Own your interviews! Communication skills including Non-verbal Body Communication Skills! How to learn & study in various methods too!

    Haytham

    London

    5 (5 reviews)
    • £35/h
  • Marika - Battersea - Pitching

    Marika

    Battersea

    5 (4 reviews)
    • £60/h
  • Adebola - Bloomsbury - Pitching

    Adebola

    Bloomsbury

    5 (1 reviews)
    • £15/h
  • Experienced compliance and legal professional offering career and job advice in London

    Kate

    London

    5 (1 reviews)
    • £30/h
    • 30mins free
  • A current product manager and people leader who understand the pains of the job world and wants to help you meet your life goals.

    Arthur

    London

    • £20/h
    • 30mins free
  • Institutional Wealth Manager at a prestigious Investment Bank, London Business School MBA, CPA, CISI certified financial advisor

    Sophie

    London

    • £200/h
    • 1hr free
  • Freelance, writer, editor and blogger here to help you gain the necessary skills in getting your freelance career started.

    Yasmin

    London

    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Business university student offering English and Maths tutorials. I am also offering some professional development tutorials.

    Alisha

    London

    • £20/h
    • 1hr free
  • LSE student offers consulting in all areas related to career development and job searching

    Javier

    London

    • £40/h
    • 1hr free
  • Award-winning student leader offering tutorship on leadership in the modern workplace, interpersonal skills and overcoming management challenges.

    Satwik

    London

    • £20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Highly experienced tutor offering excellent outcomes. Over fifteen years’ experience, and a lecturer at a Russell Group university. I can help you achieve your academic and professional ambitions.

    Sue

    London

    • £60/h
    • 1hr free
  • Innovation and Entrepreneurship MSc specialised student and co-founder of a Tech-incubator teaching how to Pitch and refine your business idea!

    Mariam

    London

    • £17/h
    • 1hr free
  • See more tutors