Homepage
Tutoring Jobs
Amanda - Prof maths - Barnet

Amanda

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate £50
  • Response Time 24h
See Maths tutors

Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable

Amanda - Bounds Green - Maths

About the lesson

I am a Cambridge graduate who fell into teaching 6 years ago and now I love it. Nothing is more satisfying than seeing a student make progress and have fun while they're doing it.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

My main subjects are English and maths, which I teach to between KS2 and GCSE. I also prepare students for 11+ and 13+ (ISEB exams in English, maths, science and French, and individual school entrance exams/scholarship awards, including reasoning papers).

Past 11+ and 13+ students have gained entry to Radley, Dulwich, City of London School for Girls, Whitgift, Alleyns, Bedales, Bryanston, and top London grammar schools. Students have also gained academic scholarships or been placed in top sets at their first choice school.

In addition to maths, English, French and science, I also teach music theory (up to and beyond grade 8) to musicians of all instruments, and practical skills to beginner pianists (up to grade 5) and beginner singers.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

BA Hons Music (CANTAB) 2:1
A-levels in French, Maths, Music, Theatre Studies and General Studies (all grade A, some above 90%)
15 GCSEs (10As and 5 A*s)
DipABRSM (soprano voice)
Grade 8 ABRSM Piano
Grade 8 ABRSM Clarinet
140 Hour TEFL certificate

- How much do you charge?

My prices vary depending on the level of study, but are generally between £45 and £50 (£60 for A-Level music, as it requires a lot more preparation than other subjects thanks to the plethora of set works, and £55 for 13+ preparation for similar reasons). This includes a personalised learning plan and homework targeted to the student's weaknesses. My rate for practical music lessons is £40.

- Where do you teach?

I teach at the student's home as I live in rented accommodation. I'm generally willing to travel up to half an hour by bike each way, but if you're having a longer session (perhaps of two subjects, one after the other, or just a two hour block of one thing), or have more than one child in the house to teach in one night, then I'm willing to go further.

- When are you available?

I have slots available on Thursday and Friday afternoons/evenings, and at the weekend.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I teach from age 6 and up, and go up to KS3 in most subjects, up to GCSE for maths and English language, and up to degree level for music.

I also teach piano to beginners (specialising in children but also catering to adults), and theory up to at least grade 8 (if you wish to go further then please contact me about the nature of your chosen qualification and I'll see if I can help).

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

I prepare my students for SATs, GCSEs, 11+ and 13+, A Levels and ABRSM Music Exams. I could also teach Trinity music exams if the student wanted to do less 'classical' repertoire.

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I've found that skype is a good way to tutor online, as I can send you documents and interact with you almost as I would if at your home. If you're keen to try this, we could set up a trial lesson for twenty minutes or so to see how it goes.

Payment for these sessions is usually by bank transfer or cheque in the post.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

For children: You know when you hear your parents or other such grown-ups talking about how they wished they had kept up with piano, or tried harder at maths and got a good grade at GCSE, or learnt to speak French? Well, here's your chance to make sure you never end up saying that stuff! I try and make things as fun as possible (I've been told I make even mental maths enjoyable) so go pester your mum and dad and we'll see what we can do!

For adults: you know when you tell your kids/partners/friends/co-workers about how you wished you had kept up with piano, or tried harder at maths and got a good grade at GCSE, or learnt to speak French? Well, here's your chance to make sure you can stop saying that stuff! I do cater for adults as well as children, and we can come up with a tailored learning plan to suit you.

subjects

  • Maths
  • School science

languages

  • English

levels

  • Primary
  • Secondary
  • GCSE
  • +8

    AS Level

    A Level

    BTEC

    Adult education

    Undergraduate

    Masters

    Diploma

    Doctorate

About Amanda

- What kind of experience do you have?

In terms of one-to-one tutoring, I have been teaching intensively since graduating 5 years ago.

I have tutored maths, English, science and French to students between the ages of 5 and 16, prepared students for their year 6 and year 9 SATs, GCSEs and A levels, and tutored for 11+ and 13+ entrance exams. Several of my students have seen their grades go up by one or two levels in a year (one maths GCSE student was predicted a C in her GCSEs, and after a year of online tuition with me and a lot of hard work achieved an A).

In terms of music, I have tutored for GCSE and A level music (various exam boards), and taught piano, theory and singing to students aged between 4 and 40. I've also taught recorder and beginner music theory in schools to primary-aged children.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

Yes, and it is on the automatic update service.

- Where and with whom did you train?

I studied voice with Sue Waters, Dr Joseph Dawson and Veronica Campbell, and piano and theory with Dr Joseph Dawson. I also studied postgraduate acting at Drama Studio London.

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

I am a member of Equity, and tutor with some of the top agencies in London.

- Tell me about some of your current students.

I have one student whose family I have been tutoring for 5 years now. I started with her twin brother for 13+ preparation (he got into Radley with very good marks), and then moved on to his sister, who is currently sitting her GCSEs (fingers crossed!). It looks like I'll be tutoring them again next year, as the brother is keen to take A level music.

Despite knowing the family so well, they all live in Oxford and I've always tutored them over skype, so I've never actually met them in person!

Rates

packages

  • 5h: £250
  • 10h: £500

webcam

  • £50/h

Take Maths lessons with a private tutor

  • Tuition - Maths - Science - Tutor - Harrow - Edgware - Stanmore - GCSE - KS3 - 11+ preparation - Teacher

    Raj

    Edgware

    5 (12 reviews)
    • £45/h
    • 1hr free
  • GCSE Math's and Science Tutor.   Muswell Hill, Crouch End, Palmers Green , Winchmore Hill, Barnet and Enfield.   23 years teaching experience, 7 years tutoring  Inspiring students to succeed.

    Clem

    Palmers Green

    5 (10 reviews)
    • £35/h
  • Zac - Mill Hill - Maths

    Zac

    Mill Hill

    5 (7 reviews)
    • £50/h
  • Qualified Maths Teacher giving lessons in Maths in KS4,KS5,University Level. I have a degree in Maths and over 4000 hours experience of private tuition with multiple references

    Dan

    Barnet

    5 (5 reviews)
    • £50/h
  • Physics graduate looking to help students with Physics, Maths and GCSE Science

    Elana

    London

    5 (3 reviews)
    • £35/h
    • 1hr free
  • Human Biosciences (BSc) graduate, teaches mainly GCSE Biology and Chemistry (A-levels also) with three years of experience in tutoring students virtually as well as in person. Tailored method of teach

    Amin

    London

    5 (2 reviews)
    • £12/h
    • 1hr free
  • A determined A-level student looking to help primary school children in maths

    Silan

    Barnet

    • £10/h
    • 1hr free
  • Enthusiastic pharmacist offering maths and science lessons in North London

    Louwin Kurai

    London

    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Gap year student, London, offering Maths and Science tutoring. A*s at GCSE.

    Joe

    London

    • £10/h
    • 1hr free
  • Enthusiastic tutor preparing children for 11 plus, primary and also GCSE education!

    Sarah

    Enfield

    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • I am a University Economics Student offering GCSE Mathematics support in London

    Mark

    London

    • £8/h
    • 1hr free
  • Ex Professional banker giving maths tuition for all ages up to and including GCSE

    Zannatul

    New Barnet

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • I have just finished my A-Levels and I am offering KS3 and GCSE Science, Maths, English, and Geography

    Maryam

    London

    • £10/h
    • 45mins free
  • Enthusiastic, patient and nice Sixth Form student teaching Maths, English and science  for students age 5-13 from home.

    Julia

    Borehamwood

    • £8/h
    • 1hr free
  • I am a first year college student. I have just completed my GCSEs and received 11 A - A stars (8-9s). I am extremely capable.

    Giovanni

    London

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • Pharmacy Student offering KS1/KS2/Secondary School and GCSE lessons in London. Subjects: Maths, Chemistry, Physics, Biology. GCSE/SATs

    Yaw

    London

    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Do you need a tutor that makes work fun but also teaches you well thats me

    Lilly Anne

    • £20/h
    • 1hr free
  • A-Level student offering high level GCSE (grades 7-9) Maths and Science tuition, based in North London.

    Hamida

    London

    • £10/h
    • 30mins free
  • UCL Master’s graduate offering biology and chemistry tuition in London and Hertfordshire

    Tom

    Cheshunt

    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Chemistry student at the University of Oxford, teaching Chemistry and Maths at a variety of levels. Here to make Science easy!

    Selen

    • £20/h
    • 1hr free
  • See more tutors