Andy - Prof thesis - Preston

Andy

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate £20
  • Response Time 24h
See Thesis tutors

Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable

Andy - Hollingdean - Dissertation and thesis’s writing preparation

About the lesson

I'm currently in my 4th year of a 5 year honours chemistry degree at St Andrews, and am spending the year working on an industrial placement at GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) in Worthing.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

I can teach chemistry and biology to A-level standard, having studied biology for 2 years at undergraduate level; I am also able teach Latin to GCSE level. Although my main interests lie in organic and inorganic chemistry, I am equally competent at teaching physical chemistry. I am strong at cell biology and biochemistry, though I also have firm understanding of physiology and ecology. For Latin, I specialise in mainly focussing on grammar and vocabulary, though I have good knowledge of a small selection of main authors (Ovid, Catullus, and Virgil).

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I hold A-levels (at grade A) in Biology, Latin, and Chemistry, with AS-levels in German and Maths. I also hold Advanced Extension Awards in Chemistry and Latin. As stated, I am currently in the 4th year of a 5 year chemistry degree at St Andrews, and have worked consistently at first level throughout this course. I, and my references, can provide electronic proof of my qualifications if required, though I do not currently possess hard copies, as these were unfortunately subject to theft earlier in the year.
In addition to the above, I have 10 GCSEs at A* (6) and A (4) level, in the three sciences, Maths, English (literature and language), History, German, IT, and Latin. As for my A levels, electronic proof of these qualifications can be provided on request.

- How much do you charge?

If travelling within Brighton, the tuition price incorporates any travel expenses (usually bus fares) that I will need to cover. If lessons are to take place outside of Brighton, then I will request a small additional travel fee for train fares (max. £5-10).

- Where do you teach?

I don't mind teaching either at my own house or travelling to students to do so-as I live centrally in town, most areas of the city are within easy reach.

- When are you available?

I am available Monday-Wednesday evenings, and all throughout Sundays. Due to sports commitments, I am not available at all on Thursday evenings, and will usually be unavailable, though not always, on Saturdays.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I am willing to teach from 15+ years up to any age, and I welcome people of all standards.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

I am highly familiar with the A-level system, and am able to prepare students for examinations at this and GCSE level. I can also offer a depth of advice with regard to university applications, personal statements, and degree choice specific to chemistry.

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I am capable of tutoring online either through e-mail correspondence or Skype, and if online tutoring is preferred, the student can indicate what times and days are most suitable for them and I will aim to accommodate this. As part of my tutoring I prepare regular assignments to maintain understanding, and these will be e-mailed to the student-the student can then either return the finished assignment by e-mail or print out and return by post.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

I am a tutor who aims to build a strong rapport with the student-I make sure that progress is at their pace and that overly advanced concepts are not introduced at too early a stage. I highly value feedback, and encourage the student to tell me if they have any ideas of their own to help the learning process-in return, the main thing I ask for is that students try their best and aren't afraid to make mistakes, as this will achieve the best end result. I prefer to not just be accessible during lessons, but at any time a student requires help, and, most of all, to provide a relaxed and non-pressured environment in which to learn.

subjects

  • Thesis
  • Latin

languages

  • English

levels

  • Primary
  • Secondary
  • GCSE
  • +8

    AS Level

    A Level

    BTEC

    Adult education

    Undergraduate

    Masters

    Diploma

    Doctorate

About Andy

- What kind of experience do you have?

I have tutored once previously, to a first year undergraduate biochemistry student in both chemistry and biology. Progressing from a basic understanding and low confidence in each subject, over the course of a few weeks of regular lessons, his competency in both subjects improved markedly to the point where he successfully passed all of the relevant resit exams he was required to take. Covering a wide range of topics in a relatively short time frame, it was pleasing to see the student's understanding develop quickly in areas he initially found highly challenging. I used the first lesson to gauge the student's initial level of understanding and confidence on a given subject area, and then tailored the tutoring around this starting point, devising exercises to reinforce newly gained concepts.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

I do not currently hold an up-to-date CRB disclosure certificate; my referees may provide character references on request if necessary.

- Where and with whom did you train?

I receive ongoing technical training at GSK, in addition to 3 years of laboratory training and theory-based learning at St Andrews.

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

I currently work at GlaxoSmithKline, a pharmaceutical company, with a large manufacturing site based in Worthing, West Sussex. I work as a laboratory chemist to conduct lab-based investigations into problems that arise on the site's manufacturing plants, which produce 20-25 tonnes of penicillin and non-penicillin based medicinal compounds annually.

Rates

packages

  • 5h: £100
  • 10h: £200

webcam

  • £20/h

Take Thesis lessons with a private tutor

  • Sue - Swallowfield - School English

    Sue

    Swallowfield

    5 (8 reviews)
    • £35/h
  • PhD in English Literature from the University of Edinburgh, teaches English Literature and/or Language at GCSE and A Level. Happy to teach either in-person in the Brighton & Hove area or online!

    Rupert

    Brighton

    5 (4 reviews)
    • £40/h
    • 1hr free
  • University Lecturer and PhD in Politics with 23 years experience, offers tutoring online or in Brighton.

    Bridget

    Brighton

    5 (2 reviews)
    • £30/h
  • Tamara - Orpington - School English

    Tamara

    Orpington

    5 (1 reviews)
    • £29/h
  • Phd student with 7 years teaching experience offers online classes in Latin and Ancient Greek Language and culture

    Katalin

    London

    5 (1 reviews)
    • £20/h
    • 1hr free
  • ESOL classes ONLINE All Levels CELTA qualified Post Graduate Experience in exam preparation, VISA application, university students and business management teams

    Amanda

    Brighton

    • £20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Doctor of anthropology with an undergraduate in literature from Cambridge University working for the UK’s Ministry of Justice. Passionate mentor and writer.

    Jessica

    Brighton

    • £30/h
    • 1hr free
  • Ollie - tutor of German (all levels), English (IELTS) and French (GCSE) - based in Hove - highly qualified - many years of experience

    Ollie

    Hove

    • £28/h
  • Sussex MA student in Creative and Critical Writing seeking to share ideas

    Elizabeth

    Brighton

    • £13/h
    • 1hr free
  • Post grad student with multiple publications, can help you with your creative writing, research paper, essay or dissertation writing

    Arfa

    • £30/h
    • 1hr free
  • 1st class Ancient History Graduate teaching Classics and exam/ essay technique up to university level

    Jasper

    Brighton

    • £35/h
    • 1hr free
  • University of Portsmouth Musical Theatre graduate and masters student, offering tutoring in Drama and English Literature for A-Level and Undergraduate students in Brighton/Online.

    Megan

    Haywards Heath

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • Highly Experienced tutor offering online maths and science lessons and exam help

    Chimela

    Brighton

    • £22/h
    • 30mins free
  • Oxford educated Latin tutor with over 13 years of experience, including as Director of Education at a top tuition agency.

    Christopher

    • £80/h
    • 1hr free
  • Brighton based PhD student offering lessons in literature and language for all abilities

    Maisie

    Brighton

    • £22/h
    • 30mins free
  • Classics tutor based near Reading with 16 years of teaching experience. Subjects taught: Latin, Classical Civilisation, Ancient Greek, English, History and French. Flexible hours, can teach at client'

    Rod

    Winnersh

    • £40/h
    • 1hr free
  • International Studies graduate offering tutoring in English Lang. & Lit., Economics, Religious Studies, Latin, Drama, & German to A-Level

    Nina

    Henfield

    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Classics lecturer offering Latin, Ancient Greek and English tuition with over a decade's experience at a tertiary education facility.

    Szerdi

    London

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • Classics PhD student and qualified secondary school teacher offering Latin, Greek, Classics, Ancient History, English and Education

    Alexandra

    Uppingham

    • £35/h
    • 1hr free
  • Teacher and psychologist with over20 years of experience in research support and exam preparation

    Roberta

    Shoreham-by-Sea

    • £35/h
    • 1hr free
  • See more tutors