Charlotte - Prof support for students with dyspraxia - Harrow

Charlotte

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate £30
  • Response Time 24h
See Support For Students With Dyspraxia tutors

Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable

Charlotte - West Harrow - Support For Students With Dyspraxia

    • Harrow
    • at their home
    • at your home

About the lesson

I am a freelance trumpet player and a teacher of all brass instruments currently living and working in London. I am passionate about playing and very enthusiastic to encourage others to enjoy music as I do.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

I can teach you any brass instrument that you are interested in learning.

I specialise in the trumpet and my main area of work is classical playing. This can vary from playing orchestrally on a symphonic level, to smaller chamber orchestras and groups as well as covering a wide range of solo repertoire. For exams most of the learning is solo pieces but I think that one of the biggest skills that you gain from learning a musical instrument is how to play as a group.

As well as specialising in the trumpet I double on a number of other instruments such as cornet, piccolo and flugelhorn. I have been playing with championship level brass bands for the last 6 years (playing the cornet) and throughout this time, I have also gained an in depth understanding of all other brass instruments reading in both tenor and bass clef.

My playing and experience also includes more commercial aspects and I enjoy teaching a number of different styles from film music, to playing in shows and musicals to playing big band, swing or funk styles.

I also understand the importance of an in depth knowledge of musical theory alongside the practical side. I mainly incorporate this into the practical lessons but I am able to teach this separately as required.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I have obtained both a BMus (Hons) and a Masters in Performance at the Royal College of Music. I have gained Grade 8 Trumpet, Grade 6 piano and Grade 5 in Musical Theory with ABRSM. I also have 10 A stars at GCSE level and four A's at A level in Music, Psychology, Geography and Biology.

Whilst at college I was part of the Rising Stars Brass Dectet as well as winning the Brodie Solo Brass Prize.

- How much do you charge?

My standard rate is £35 for an hour. Depending on how far I travel may mean that there are minimal travel expenses, but living in London with excellent transport links (and a car), this is unlikely!

- Where do you teach?

I am based in Harrow, North West London. I am happy to teach at home or in a music studio that I use nearby. Alternatively, I can travel to you. My work takes me everywhere, from North East London and Essex. I rehearse twice a week in Romford playing in Redbridge Brass Band. I also teach weekly in Central London in Kensington and Chelsea as well as South East London in Peckham. My work tends to take me all over London, Kent, Surrey and Sussex as well as near to me in Middlesex. I am very happy to travel to you.

- When are you available?

Being a freelance musician, the times that i am available to teach can be very flexible and variable to find a time that is good for you. I am also available throughout the school holidays.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I teach any student of any age and any standard. I believe that it is never too late to start something new! Having studied the trumpet since the age of nine and been lucky enough to be taught by some of the best musicians in the country, I feel that I have a lot to give to anybody interested in learning.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

I can be very flexible, I can prepare you for Grades with the ABRSM or any other syllabus of your choice. I personally went through the ABRSM system so would recommend it but i also know that it is 'horses for courses' as it were and different people might be better suited to different things. I am more than happy to teach people who have no desire to take grades and instead just want to learn for the love of it.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

If you are keen to learn then please get in touch. Although there are many aspects of technique to learn, the most important thing is that you enjoy playing. I have learnt from many different teachers and i know that everybody is receptive to different methods. Knowing this first hand, i am extremely adaptable and enjoy working to find a way that best suits you. The main thing is, whatever your goals are, whether you are trying to pass grades or otherwise, is that you enjoy it!! I look forward to hearing from you.
Thank you for taking the time to read my profile!

subjects

  • Support For Students With Dyspraxia

languages

  • English

levels

  • Primary
  • Secondary
  • GCSE
  • +8

    AS Level

    A Level

    BTEC

    Adult education

    Undergraduate

    Masters

    Diploma

    Doctorate

About Charlotte

- What kind of experience do you have?

My teaching experience involves working with individual students of all ages, from beginners to more advanced players. I have worked with the Brighton and Hove Music Service, Newham Academy of Music, Primary Workshops for schools, Romford Saturday Music school, and participated in the RCM sparks project. I have been involved in a great deal of outreach work, visiting schools around the country, inspiring young people and showing how much fun can be had from learning a musical instrument.

As well as this, I hugely enjoy private lessons which I feel really give the chance to get the absolute best out of people, really focusing in on what you personally want to gain from learning. I cover from grades 1-8 as well as diploma level.

I have a great deal of current playing experience which really helps me to inspire and encourage students as well as giving a very fresh outlook on the music profession. I freelance with top London orchestras such as English National Opera, the Philharmonia Orchestra, London Philharmonic Orchestra and the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

Yes.

- Where and with whom did you train?

I studied both my undergraduate and a Masters in performance at the Royal College of Music. I studied with Alistair Mackie (Principal trumpet Philharmonia), Mark Calder (Philharmonia) and Mike Lovett (John Wilson Orchestra and Session Musician), Paul Archibald, Paul Benniston (Principal trumpet London Philharmonic Orchestra) and Alan Thomas (City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra) to name a few!

Rates

packages

  • 5h: £150
  • 10h: £300

Take Support For Students With Dyspraxia lessons with a private tutor

  • SEN London based tutor working with Dyslexia, Dyspraxia, ADD/ADHA (and other SEN needs) from age 7 to mature students

    Kira Phoenix

    London

    5 (10 reviews)
    • £50/h
  • Special educator with 10 years experience offering support to children with dyslexia, dysgraphia, dyscalculia, and reading difficulties

    Jacinta

    Swindon

    5 (5 reviews)
    • £20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Maths/ English SEN tutor - London - Trainee Educational Psychologist 10 years experience working in schools supporting children with SEN

    Donna

    London

    5 (4 reviews)
    • £35/h
  • Timothy - Central Southampton - Support For Students With Dyspraxia

    Timothy

    Central Southampton

    5 (3 reviews)
    • £32/h
  • Ivan - Headington - Support For Students With Dyspraxia

    Ivan

    Headington

    5 (3 reviews)
    • £30/h
  • Masters degree, qualified, engaging Teacher with 20+ years IB PYP teaching experience

    S

    Sandwich

    5 (2 reviews)
    • £39/h
    • 30mins free
  • Tutoring for Primary Aged pupils. First lesson free! Tailored learning approach! Book now! Virtual or social distancing with PPE in a purpose built building available.

    Bethan

    Caerphilly

    5 (2 reviews)
    • £20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Dyspraxic teacher offering support classes to students with dyspraxia, dyslexia or similar difficulties.

    Harriet

    Carlton

    5 (1 reviews)
    • £30/h
    • 1hr free
  • Learning with most outcome due to high patience level for student benefit

    Zayan

    Central Birmingham

    5 (1 reviews)
    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Dyslexic 1st class International Relations & Sociology graduate, willing to share writing, reading and comprehension tips & tricks.

    Reccarnei

    Oxford

    5 (1 reviews)
    • £15/h
    • 30mins free
  • Engineering student that offers maths and english classes for children with special needs.

    Iuliana

    Coventry

    • £22/h
    • 1hr free
  • Primary school teaching assistant offering help with reading, writing and maths for children aged 4-11

    Kate

    London

    • £30/h
    • 1hr free
  • A college student who is willing to teach students with special needs

    Anime

    Salford

    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Tutor For GCSE's, I'm an English Female with 10 GCSE's From C's to A*s

    Erin

    Burnham-on-Crouch

    • £7/h
    • 30mins free
  • Widely experienced Special Needs teacher and early intervention practitioner, offers 1:1 interventions.

    Maria

    London

    • £35/h
    • 1hr free
  • Mental Health and Well-Being Coach offering extra support, guidance, and coping mechanisms in order to be your best.

    Sam

    Birkenhead

    • £20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Law student offering English and Sociology up to sixth form education , London

    Sarah

    Barking

    • £23/h
    • 1hr free
  • Dyslexia tutor with over 10 years of supporting the dyslexic learner and/or students with other learning difficulties.

    Lynda

    New Barnet

    • £40/h
    • 1hr free
  • Qualified Primary Teacher looking to help and support children with their learning.

    Natasha

    Weir

    • £30/h
    • 30mins free
  • Gjghgj g gh gh gh gh h g g g gh jgj

    Andreas

    Sheffield

    • £30/h
    • 1hr free
  • See more tutors