Christopher - Prof english - Retford

Christopher

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate £10
  • Response Time 24h
See English tutors

Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable

Christopher - Retford - School English

About the lesson

I have a friendly and flexible approach to tutoring. I work to meet the needs of the tutee. My aim is to help my tutees to enjoy learning and achieve success.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

I teach English and Maths up to GCSE. I offer 11plus tuition for tutees in counties which still use this. For tutees wanting to prepare for examinations to join an independent school; I help with these.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I have a degree in Business Studies. I also have a Post Graduate Certificate in Education.

- How much do you charge?

I charge £10 per hour. This includes travel and any materials I need. For distances travel from my home I may need to charge a fee as I do not have a car and may need to use public transport. I am happy to give a discount for teaching groups of children.

- Where do you teach?

I prefer to teach in the student's home; and would like a parent in the house where the student is under 18. I can also teach in my home; I would prefer if a parent can attend if the student is under 18. If not, I do need arrangements as to how your child will be collected or be able to get home. I can teach in Retford, Worksop, Newark and Gainsborough.

- When are you available?

I can teach weekdays (day & evening) and at weekends. I also can tutor during the school holidays.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I teach English and Maths from 5 years old to GCSE. I can also teach the 11plus and similar exams.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

I prepare students for a wide range of qualifications. In addition to the 11plus, I help students to prepare for KS2 SATs and for GCSEs.

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I can tutor online by using email and videophone. It is possible to tutor over an arranged period of time using this method. Also I can tutor anyone, anywhere using this method.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

My aim as a tutor is to help you achieve success in your subject. I will help you develop the skills you need to do well. if you are studying for exams, I will help you with the approach you need to take to do well. Having a tutor is an enjoyable and rewarding experience. Basically, you have your own teacher. I work to make my sessions rewarding and fun, and will coach you towards success. I look forward to working with you.

subjects

  • English
  • 11+ School Exam Preparation
  • 13 Plus

languages

  • English

levels

  • Primary
  • Secondary
  • GCSE
  • +8

    AS Level

    A Level

    BTEC

    Adult education

    Undergraduate

    Masters

    Diploma

    Doctorate

About Christopher

- What kind of experience do you have?

I have taught across a broad age range of students over the last 17 years. Recently, I have been a class teacher in a junior school. I have also taught in middle schools, secondary schools and in FE. Prior to becoming a teacher I worked as an accountant in business for 12 years.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

I have an up-to-date CRB check which is clear.

- Where and with whom did you train?

I studied for my Business Degree at Hull College of Higher Education (now Lincoln University). I studied for my PGCE at the University of the West of England in Bristol.

Rates

packages

  • 5h: £50
  • 10h: £100

webcam

  • £10/h

Take English lessons with a private tutor

  • TEFL-trained Economics graduate offering English lessons for students learning English as a foreign language and for native speakers for 11+ entry exams.

    Rimsh

    London

    5 (15 reviews)
    • £50/h
    • 30mins free
  • Entrance Prep from 11+ to 16+ By Expert Tutor in London.

    Joshua

    Harrow

    5 (11 reviews)
    • £80/h
    • 30mins free
  • Access top schools! + BA/MA/PhD support. I'm a UCL PhD—28 years' experience.

    Dr Adrian

    London

    5 (11 reviews)
    • £85/h
    • 30mins free
  • Mrs Thanvi 11plus, SAT's & GCSE Maths tutor South Woodford London. Mindfulness and Science of well Being Coach.

    Attiya

    South Woodford

    5 (11 reviews)
    • £35/h
  • 11+ and 13+ specialist - with over 9 years' experience in online and in-person tuition.

    Hettie

    Exeter

    5 (11 reviews)
    • £40/h
  • Vivienne - Imperial Wharf - School English

    Vivienne

    Imperial Wharf

    5 (10 reviews)
    • £85/h
  • Charlotte - Wallington - School English

    Charlotte

    Wallington

    5 (10 reviews)
    • £45/h
  • Experienced Private Tutor offering lessons in English, all levels, Greek, Jazz, Pop Singing, in South East London

    Helen

    London

    4.9 (10 reviews)
    • £50/h
  • Alexandra - East Dulwich - School English

    Alexandra

    East Dulwich

    5 (10 reviews)
    • £85/h
  • Halina's English Online Academy. My approach is Teaching English with Technology. I use blended learning, flipping the classroom, learning by teaching or encouraging

    Halina

    York

    5 (7 reviews)
    • £25/h
    • 30mins free
  • Experienced Oxford University graduate and current PhD candidate, offers English tutoring towards entrance exams (7+, 11+ etc.)

    Mischa

    East Dulwich

    5 (6 reviews)
    • £45/h
  • An Experienced Dissertation, Thesis and Final Project Editor, Tutor, Writer and Programmer offers to help with your project

    Ali

    Beeston

    5 (4 reviews)
    • £25/h
    • 30mins free
  • Experienced Doctor of English (UCL) w/ 7 years teaching experience offering lessons in English, Creative Writing and entrance school exams from KS2 to GCSE level study.

    Dr. Tymek

    5 (3 reviews)
    • £45/h
    • 30mins free
  • Online 11+ and 13+ Common Entrance tutor with 13 years + experience in English, Maths and Reasoning

    James

    London

    5 (2 reviews)
    • £50/h
  • Mature PGCE English student and Literature Masters holder gives Literature and Language lessons from Primary to Adult in Gainsborough and Scunthorpe areas

    Sandra

    Gainsborough

    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Skype English Tutor - GCSE, home school, IELTS, English conversation, proofreading, etc.

    Catherine "Cat"

    New Houghton

    • £20/h
    • 30mins free
  • Recent Oxford University graduate offering tutoring in range of subjects, with a specialisation in school and university entrance (including interview) preparation

    Tobias

    Barlborough

    • £20/h
    • 30mins free
  • Qualified Experts, Hire me Now For Dissertation Problems. Guaranteed Dissertation Help For Proofreading, English Grammar Checking etc

    Blessing

    Tickhill

    • £10/h
    • 1hr free
  • First class honours degree Primary Education graduate (BAhons) and qualified primary school teacher (QTS). Personalised and creative teaching methods to meet your child’s needs.

    Catherine

    Worksop

    • £20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Currently studying Sociology at university, and I have 3 a-levels in Sociology, Psychology and English Literature. Here to help anyone who needs that extra push.

    Maddison

    Retford

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • See more tutors