Corrina - Prof 11+ school exam preparation - London

Corrina

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate £30
  • Response Time 24h
See 11+ School Exam Preparation tutors

Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable

Corrina - East Dulwich - 11+ School Exam Preparation

About the lesson

An experienced, highly-qualified tutor, musician, and teacher.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

Music: Violin, Cello, Music Theory, Musicianship, Chamber Music
Key Stage 3 Music (including GCSE)
A-Level History of Art
University Entrance: Music
University Music (extra coaching and assistance with research, examination preparation)

I am also able to assist with proofreading, and essay editing at all levels.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I hold an MPhil in Music (Performance and Musicology) from the University of Oxford; a BMus with 1st class Honours in Performance (Violin); BMus in History & Literature of Music from Victoria University of Wellington; ATCL in Cello

I have a Certificate of Proficiency in Latin from Victoria University of Wellington, and I studied Art History at Birkbeck College, University of London.

Currently I am a PhD student in historical musicology at Oxford Brookes University.

- How much do you charge?

I charge £35 per hour for private lessons.

For music theory I can also teach small groups (2-4 pupils) at a reduced rate (£20 per hour, per pupil).

Please see list of prices for full details.

For half-hour lessons I charge £22, to cover to costs of travel to/from lessons.

- Where do you teach?

I am able to teach in students' homes. I am available to teach in Brixton, Herne Hill and East Dulwich.

- When are you available?

I am available for teaching during the day (Monday, Wedesday-Sunday).
I am available during school holidays.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I am happy to teach pupil from the age of 3 years, and there is certainly no upper age limit, as I believe that people of all ages should be able to enjoy and be stimulated by the experience of learning and improving their skills and knowledge. This applies to all the areas in which I tutor: whether you want to develop your violin technique to acquire a new qualification, or prepare to play with an ensemble, or as part of your education, I am sure that we can enjoy interesting and rewarding lessons together.

I am familiar with the ABRSM and Trinity Guildhall syllabus, and have taught children successfully at all levels. I am also able to help coach children for the 'extra' bits of their grade exams (such as scales, aural, and 'viva voce').

For adult students, I am always pleased to help with tricky bits of orchestral or chamber music, and to coach ensembles.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

Common Entrance, ABRSM and Trinity Guildhall examinations (violin, cello, theory), GCSE, A-level (AS and A2), university applications (undergrad and postgrad)

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I am available via Skype and email (googlemail instant messaging) for online tutoring.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

I try to create a positive and stimulating environment in which my pupils can develop their abilities and confidence as musicians and academics, and I believe in helping my pupils to achieve the highest results. I also believe that it is important that parents should be involved with their child's music lessons, and that they should try to make music a part of their day-to-day life: parental involvement and support is valuable to children, and helps their progress.

subjects

  • 11+ School Exam Preparation
  • CV writing
  • Thesis

languages

  • English

levels

  • Primary
  • Secondary
  • GCSE
  • +8

    AS Level

    A Level

    BTEC

    Adult education

    Undergraduate

    Masters

    Diploma

    Doctorate

About Corrina

- What kind of experience do you have?

I have been teaching violin, cello, and music theory for more than ten years, including in a specialist music school. I have taught children aged 3 years and over, as well as university students, and adult students. I teach privately and in schools, including for Richmond Music Trust.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

Yes. I hold an enhanced DBS, issued in 2013.

- Where and with whom did you train?

I studied violin with Mary Taylor, Gillian Ansell (New Zealand String Quartet), Ursual Evans (New Zealand Symphony Orchestra) and Kim Jin (New Zealand School of Music). My cello teachers include David Chickering (NZSO), Katrin Eickhorst Squire, Jonathan Manson, Alison McGillivray and Angela East. I trained initially in Wellington, New Zealand, before moving to Oxford in 2005.

- Tell me about some of your current students.

I currently teach young children and adults, and travel all over London to see my pupils. It is very rewarding to see them make progress.

Rates

packages

  • 5h: £150
  • 10h: £300

webcam

  • £30/h

Take 11+ School Exam Preparation lessons with a private tutor

  • Cambridge and Oxford graduate offering guidance to write dissertation and thesis proposals

    Tracey Yani

    London

    5 (22 reviews)
    • £65/h
    • 30mins free
  • English and Academic Skills lessons for every age group! Available everywhere in London. Bilingual tutor with 4 years of experience, +500 hours in teaching.

    Ecem

    London

    5 (13 reviews)
    • £40/h
    • 1hr free
  • ENGLISH LANGUAGE TUTORING -----> Private Tutor with 12+ Years of Tutoring Experience and 10+ Years of Business Consulting Experience. Taught 5000+ hours so far Online & In-Person

    Haris

    London

    5 (12 reviews)
    • £30/h
    • 1hr free
  • Dissertation tutoring & support - 7 years experience at UG and PG level

    Rodrigo

    Greater London

    4.9 (12 reviews)
    • £60/h
    • 30mins free
  • Alexandra - East Dulwich - School English

    Alexandra

    East Dulwich

    5 (10 reviews)
    • £85/h
  • Supporting students with the preparation and write up of their Business Research Proposals & Dissertations

    Muhammad

    London

    5 (9 reviews)
    • £50/h
    • 30mins free
  • The UK's Top 11-Plus Tutor - Online Only - 100% Success Rate - Barrister, LLB, LLM, BPTC, PGCE, MRES, MSET, PhD (Cand.)

    Luke

    London

    5 (9 reviews)
    • £130/h
  • Rebecca (Bex) - Clapham Common - School English

    Rebecca (Bex)

    Clapham Common

    5 (7 reviews)
    • £75/h
  • Christopher - Borough - 11+ School Exam Preparation

    Christopher

    Borough

    5 (7 reviews)
    • £60/h
  • Junior Doctor Offers Dissertation, University Essay and Thesis Services - Across London (in person) and online (worldwide)

    Connor

    London

    5 (6 reviews)
    • £45/h
    • 30mins free
  • MSc and MBA graduate offering experienced dissertation writing support and guidance - 6 years at UG and PG level

    Cole

    London

    5 (5 reviews)
    • £20/h
    • 1hr free
  • James - King's Cross - Dissertation and thesis’s writing preparation

    James

    King's Cross

    5 (4 reviews)
    • £50/h
  • Harvard and Cambridge Graduate - Experienced Maths, Physics, Chemistry and Biology Tutor in Central London

    Amardeep

    Chelsea

    5 (4 reviews)
    • £120/h
  • Experienced Doctor of English (UCL) w/ 7 years teaching offers help in English Language and Literature (GCSE, A-Level, university admissions & undergraduate) and essay/dissertation writing & planning

    Dr. Tymek

    5 (3 reviews)
    • £45/h
    • 30mins free
  • John - Pimlico - 11+ School Exam Preparation

    John

    Pimlico

    5 (2 reviews)
    • £30/h
  • EXCELLENT CLASSES (10 yrs teaching experience) - English Tutor from London - All Levels

    Kate

    London

    5 (1 reviews)
    • £25/h
    • 30mins free
  • Highly experienced tutor prepares students for 7+/11+ exams in London (E2)

    Aletta

    Bethnal Green

    • £40/h
  • Specialist English Tutor in London from an experienced recent English Literature graduate

    Aouda

    London

    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Emma - Marylebone - Test prep

    Emma

    Marylebone

    • £40/h
  • University students offering any tutoring. I specialised in maths and English. !

    Myia

    London

    • £12/h
    • 1hr free
  • See more tutors