Homepage Help
Help Tutoring Jobs
Hillingdon 
£30/h
Tutor profile verified
Response Time 2h
Lessons offered by Derek
  • Individual
  • In group
The lessons will be held
  • at his home
  • at your home
  • By webcam
Taught subjects
  • Trumpet
  • Cornet
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba
  • French horn
Levels
  • All Levels

Derek - Hayes - Trumpet

Methodology

Personal tuition is always geared fully to the individual to suit their needs.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

I teach Piano, Brass, Theory and general Musicianship. I also teach English, History and Music to GCSE level. I teach all academic subjest up to Key Stage Two level.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I have a BA Honours degree in English and Music and an ARCM diploma in Brass teaching. I have qualified teacher status (secondary qualified but with over 20 years primary experience). I am now however self-employed and concentrate on private tutoring and freelance musical work.

- How much do you charge?

On average I charge £30 per hour. I am prepared to teach some subjects, especially Music lessons on a half hourly basis. I do not charge extra for travel and am prepared to negotiate fees according to individual circumstances and the level and nature of the tuition required.

- Where do you teach?

I prefer to teach students in their own homes. I am based in Hayes so can easily travel to Uxbridge, Harrow, Northolt, Ealing or South Buckinghamshire.

- When are you available?

I am prepared to teach in the school holidays, at weekends and after school. I am prepared to teach at other times if students are available.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I teach all ages including adults. I teach brass, piano and theory from beginner to Grade 8. I teach all academic subjects to Key stage Two level, and teach Music, History and English to GCSE and A level.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

I prepare students for examinations, recitals and performance of all kinds. I also undertake accompanying work at all levels from grade exams to professional recital work

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I would not be interested in tutoring online.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

I am an enthusiastic teacher and I am very experienced. I tailor my approach carefully to suit the individual and do not teach any two students in the same way. I expect the very best from all of my students but recognise that we all learn at different rates and am patient with those who find learning difficult.

Background

- What kind of experience do you have?

I have thirty years experience of teaching Music and over 20 years experience of primary teaching. I have much experience of preparing students for SATs and Music Theory examinations.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

I have an Enhanced CRB disclosure

- Where and with whom did you train?

University of London and University of London Institute of Education.

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

National Union of Teachers.

- Tell me about some of your current students.

I have a student who has won a scholarship to Cheethams in Manchester and who is in the National Youth Wind Orchestra of Great Britain. I have another who is currently in the National Youth Brass Band of Great Britain

Rates

Rate for online lessons : £30/h
Lessons offered by Derek
Individual
In group
The lessons will be held
at his home
at your home
webcam
Taught subjects
  • Trumpet
  • Cornet
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba
  • French horn
Levels
  • All Levels

Similar tutors

trumpet lessons closeby? Here's a selection of tutor listings that you can check out.
Superprof can also suggest cornet lessons to help you.
Learning isn't a problem, euphonium lessons for all!
Taking tuba lessons has never been easier: you're going to learn new skills.

Barnes
Raymond - Barnes - Trumpet
£40
Raymond
  • (1 review)

I'm a freelance music teacher and drummer/tuba player with 20 years experience and knowledge that I'd love to share with...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Borehamwood
Brass Instrumental Lessons in Hertfordshire (Degree: BMus Hons, Royal Academy of Music)
£50
Max
  • (3 reviews)
1st lesson free!

I endeavour to make sure every lesson is geared towards the needs of each individual student. I am fun, patient and it is...

Face to face lessons Approved profile
at his home at your home By webcam
1 hour £30 £30 £30
Book a class