Homepage
Tutoring Jobs
alt_photo

MARIA

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate £16
  • Response Time 24h
See ESOL (English) tutors
Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable

English and Spanish graduate long work experience gives ESOL, exam preparation and Spanish lessons. Areas Wolverhampton, Dudley , Birmingham and surrounding areas

    • Wolverhampton
    • at your home

About the lesson

My private tuition sessions are always tailored to each student's needs, namely his age, educational requirements and general background. It is important for me as a tutor to consolidate the student's areas of strength and encourage him/her to improve, practice and therefore consolidate areas that might be of some difficulty to the student. I try my very best to have the lessons in a relaxing and fun yet of a high professionalism atmosphere . I normally use a course book as well as my own materials and copies in order to practice all areas of the language( speaking, writing, oral communication and listening.) In the case of the students that are interested in taking a particular exam I organize the lesson on past papers materials as well, so that the student can come into contact with the practical aspects of the exam requirements before the actual exam itself.

I believe that every learner, irrelevant to his age, education, and personal learning requirements should be encouraged to build on his educational strength and discover his own learning style in order to achieve his full learning potential.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

English
Modern Greek
Spanish

- Tell me about your qualifications.

BA(Hons) English Literature with Spanish Language and Literature (University of Hertfordshire)
MA English Literature( University of Warwick)
DELE B2 (Instituto Cervantes)
C1 (Instituto Cervantes)
Entry Level BSL (Brasshouse Language Centre)
Have recently registered for Level 1 BSL (Brasshouse Language Centre)
NCFE TEFL (Level 2) Certificate -UK TEFL

- How much do you charge?

I charge between 15 and 20 for English
I charge 15 for Spanish
25 for Modern Greek
The first lesson can be free of charge
For a group of four people I charge 12 per person

- Where do you teach?

I teach at the students' home. I am Birmingham based and I am willing to travel in the West Midlands area up to 10 miles.

- When are you available?

Monday mornings between 10 and 6 in the afternoon
Tuesdays between 10 in the morning and 6 in the evening
Wednesdays between 11 in the morning and 6 in the evening
Thursdays between 10 in the morning and 7 in the evening
Fridays between 10 in the morning and 3 in the afternoon
On Saturdays and Sundays I am available between 11 in the morning and 6 in the evening

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

From Primary school students up to College students and adult professionals. I have had teaching experience of a variety of ages up to now.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

Cambridge University International exams
Michigan University International exams
English Literature
Spanish( up to GCSE)
Modern Greek (up to A-levels)

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

Birmingham

- Do you have a personal message for students?

Nothing is really impossible if we really ''have our heart'' at it. Everyone and each of us can fully achieve his learning targets!

subjects

  • ESOL (English)
  • Spanish
  • IELTS
  • +2

    TOEFL

    TOEIC

languages

  • English

levels

  • Primary
  • Secondary
  • GCSE
  • +14

    BTEC

    Adult education

    Undergraduate

    Diploma

    A1

    A2

    B1

    B2

    C1

    C2

    Beginner

    Intermediate

    Advanced

    Professional

About MARIA

I have been working as a private language tutor for more than fifteen years and also had ESOL training in UK.I My work experience spans from private schools of Modern Languages abroad to private language tuition in UK. My students have been of various ages, for example primary and secondary students learning English or Spanish to prepare for International exams , adults that needed the acquirement of a Modern language in order to facilitate or improve their professional perspectives, or just as part of their own personal interest.For the past three years I have also had work experience as a cover supervisor and SEN Learning Support in local primary and secondary schools.

- What kind of experience do you have?

I recently attendeds an Intensive NCFE Level 2 TEFL course with UK-TEFL
I have finished the Entry Level BSL (British Sign Language) course at the Brasshouse Language Centre, Birmingham and at the moment I am registered for thr fully accredited Level 1 BSL course in the same Language Centre
I have had experience as an ESOL and English teacher overseas for more than twelve years.
I have had training on Dyslexia and other learning difficulties (ADHD, mild learning difficulties, autistic spectrum) and have had experience as a Special Educational Needs Teaching Assistant in UK
Ihave attended a course for Teaching Assistants with a UK-based educational provider 20
I have recently had experience as an ESOL teacher of English in a private school in UK
I have registered with the Teaching Agency and intend to attend a SCITT course

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

Yes, I received my enhanced DBS last month

- Where and with whom did you train?

I first attended an introductory Teacher training course at the British Council in Athens (Principles and Methods of Teaching English as a Foreign Language'')
I attended a course on ''Dyslexia and Other Learning Difficulties'' at THACE-IEK DOMI (College of Further Education) in Athens
I have worked for a full academic year as a SEN teaching assistant (Primary 2) in UK
I have worked as a Volunteer ESOL teacher in an Independent School in Birmingham
I have recently finished the Entry Level BSL (British Sign Language Course) at Brasshouse Language Centre, affilliated to Birmingham City Council
I have recently finished an Intensive Level 2 TEFL course with UK-TEFL at Aston Business School in Birmingham
At the moment I am attending the Level 1 BSL course at Brasshouse Language Centre in Birmingham, which is fully accredited and finishes in June 2014
In the near future I will attend a short course on Social Health Care at Birmingham Metropolitan College
I hold a BA (Hons) in English Literature with Spanish Language and Literature (University of Hertfordshire)
I hold a DELE B2 (Diploma de Espanol Como Lengua Extranjera) from the Instituto Cervantes
I hold a MA in English Literature (University of Warwick)

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

Department for Education, Teaching Agency
Birmingham Central Library

- Tell me about some of your current students.

At the moment I am applying for English Graduates' Teaching Assistants posts in the Birmingham area, as advised by the Teaching Agency
I am also applying for SCITT in local schools

Rates

packages

  • 5h: £80
  • 10h: £160

Travel

  • + ££3

Details

Travel cost is only charged for distances greater than 8 miles from Wolverhampton

The hourly rate for academic tuition is £20.

Take ESOL (English) lessons with a private tutor

See more tutors
  • TEFL qualified English teacher (bilingual in English and French) giving informative, interesting and personalised online lessons.

    Noamie

    Dudley

    5 (3 reviews)
    • £20/h
    • 45mins free
  • Linguist student at University of Birmingham with a passion to create a comfortable environment for you to learn the Spanish culture and language

    Simona

    Wolverhampton

    5 (2 reviews)
    • £12/h
    • 1hr free
  • ‘’It’s the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge’’

    Farhiya

    Wolverhampton

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • TESOL Qualified experienced teacher offering private English classes for English Language Learners

    Mollie

    Wolverhampton

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • Teacher with 5 years successful experience teaching college-level English. Familiar with current learning tools and methods. Located in Tipton, the UK. Will tutor in per

    Agnes

    Tipton

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • Qualified Teacher of English will help you to learn the language .

    Valentina

    Wednesbury

    • £20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Masters' degree holder with 30 years' experience teaching English and ESOL, and more recently, Maths. I am urrently in Birmingham and Walsall

    Pat

    Walsall

    • £14/h
    • 1hr free
  • Never give up on something that you can't go a day without thinking about it. As they say Practice makes perfect.

    Sumaiyah

    Wednesbury

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • An experienced TEFL teacher with 4 years experience in teaching children and adults.

    Laura-Ann

    Bilston

    • £20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Native speaker who will adapt to you way of learning to provide the best teaching possible. Won't feel like a teacher but more like a friend so you can ask anything without fear of judgement :)

    Clau

    Willenhall

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • Spanish lessons to enjoy the world with everybody in everywhere, anytime, go!

    Julian

    Wolverhampton

    • £10/h
    • 1hr free
  • Super Spanish GCSE Tuition. I have 8 years experience in secondary education.

    Elisha

    Wolverhampton

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • Tefl student offering English lessons. Contact me even if you only need a conversational partner to practice your English

    Gloria

    Wolverhampton

    • £10/h
    • 1hr free
  • Fun loving, friendly, qualified Teacher of English, who will get you speaking English in no time!

    Estrianna-May

    Wolverhampton

    • £14/h
    • 1hr free
  • Spanish teacher with real life and academic experience , full of patience, understanding, Wolverhampton

    Paulina

    Wolverhampton

    • £15/h
    • 30mins free
  • Need help with English for work or study? I am a native-speaker, qualified English language teacher with many years experience.

    Brian

    Bilston

    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • A*AB in Biology Chemistry anmd Maths respectively offereing tutoring in Biology and Chemistry and in Spanish (native)

    Elisa

    Wolverhampton

    • £40/h
    • 1hr free
  • Professional and Creative English Language Tutor with over 7 years of experience

    Anna

    Wolverhampton

    • £22/h
    • 30mins free
  • Native, qualified TEFL teacher with 5 years' experience in Madrid and Berlin.

    Vipin

    Wolverhampton

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • English classes with experienced native speaker. TESOL qualified. IELTS and General English

    Natalya

    Perton

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • See more tutors