Homepage Help
Help Tutoring Jobs
£20/h
Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable
Tutor profile verified
Response Time 24h
Lessons offered by Fiona
  • Individual
  • In group
The lessons will be held
  • at her home
  • at your home
Taught subjects
  • Spanish
Levels
  • All Levels

Fiona - Burham and Eccles - Spanish

Methodology

I love tutoring because I have the opportunity to work one-to-one and see the student gain in confidence in his/her abilities.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

I teach French, German and Spanish to GCSE level or equivalent and French to A Level. I also help primary school students preparing for 11-plus exams.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

In 2001, I did an Access course and obtained French, English and European Studies at the equivalent of A Level; Spanish and Computer Studies at equivalent of GCSE level. Following the Access Course I obtained a degree, BA Hons 2:1 in Joint French/German. I also studied and passed examinations in Spanish up to A Level. In the intervening years, I trained and worked as a staff nurse.

- How much do you charge?

I charge £20 for beginners to GCSE or equivalent, £25 for A Level and £15 for preparation for 11-plus. These charges may vary according to family circumstances or if there is more than 1 student at a time. If I am asked to travel a long way there may be a surcharge. Initial telephone call and/or meeting is of course free.

- Where do you teach?

I teach either in the student's home or at my own home in Chatham, whichever suits the student's circumstances better, and throughout the Medway towns in North Kent and the north side of Maidstone.

- When are you available?

I am available Wednesday, Thursday and Friday. I generally give priority to school-age students in the after-school time for obvious reasons. School holidays allow for relaxation of times and variation and of course there are holiday times when I am sometimes away. This will be discussed with the student on first meeting.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I teach all ages, adult or child. I teach French to A Level, German and Spanish to GCSE level and 11-plus to children of that age.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

I plan my lessons according to what you need to practice and learn - you set the pace. I hope you'll find me patient and sympathetic and you will gain confidence in your abilities as you learn but you must remember that having an interested tutor is only half the battle. The other half is for you to work too.

Background

- What kind of experience do you have?

I have been tutoring adults and children in French, German and Spanish since 2005 and several 10 year old children in 11-plus preparation since 2011. I have taught French from beginners to A Level in an Independent College from 2005 - 2008. I have run social conversation groups for French, German and Spanish. While at university, I lived and studied in France and Germany for 5 months each, in addition to holiday visits over the years to France, Germany and Spain. I have gained people skills during nursing and I teach in Sunday School.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

Yes I do.

- Where and with whom did you train?

My degree was at the University of Kent at Canterbury. My Access course was at Mid-Kent College of Further Education. I trained for nursing in Queen Alexandra's Nursing Corps in the Army.

- Tell me about some of your current students.

I have just finished tutoring a family of 3 in French, German and Spanish. I started tutoring the oldest sister in French in 2006. She has been through university now. Then the next sister did German and French. Finally, the younger brother did French and Spanish. He has now taken French GCSE.

I am tutoring a 9 year old primary school boy and his 8 year old sister in French. I tutor an adult who wishes to be able to speak to her future in-laws in French. We started at GCSE level then moved on to A Level as she grasped the principles of the language.

In the past I have tutored many people in Spanish and German. I don't have any currently, having reduced the number of students for personal reasons.

I have gained much experience in 11 plus tuition, including non-verbal reasoning which the Maidstone selection exam requires and at present have one boy who is preparing for the Medway exam.

Rates

Rate for a 1-hour lesson. : £20/h
Lessons offered by Fiona
Individual
In group
The lessons will be held
at her home
at your home
Taught subjects
  • Spanish
Levels
  • All Levels

Similar tutors

spanish lessons closeby? Here's a selection of tutor listings that you can check out.

Medway
Teacher with 14 years experience, all ages, all levels. Conversation, grammar, exam preparation.
£20
Hannah
1st lesson free!

* Fun and friendly classes. * Patient, kind, creative, I motivate my students to reach their potential. * I discuss...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Maidstone
Fluent Spanish tutor, teaching adults and children fluency in Spanish, able to teach GCSE also. Based in Maidstone and teaching all around Kent.
£15
Joshua
1st lesson free!

My teaching method is based on fluency. My teaching goals are fluency and will begin classes with a reflection of basic...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Oakham
Friendly Patient Kind Dynamic ESOL German French Spanish Trainer Tutor Oakham Leicestershire
£30
Stephen
  • (8 reviews)
1st lesson free!

Hello to everybody interested in learning and/or improving their English and Modern Foreign Language abilities! I have...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
London
I´m a qualified Spanish teacher as a foreign language based in London. I can adapt to your learning needs and prepare classes aiming to learn general Spanish, specific fields or exam preparation.
£30
Cesar
  • (4 reviews)
1st lesson free!

Apart from teaching Spanish, I have worked across different industries within the marketing and sales field which has...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Oldbrook
Native Spanish speaker and qualified Teacher offering Spanish lessons online. All levels, DELE exams, GCSE exam preparation, KS2, KS3, Conversational Spanish.
£20
Desam
  • (2 reviews)
1st lesson free!

My lessons are always fun and full of energy with creative games and role plays to learn practising the language. My...

Lessons by webcam Approved profile
Sevenoaks
I teach Spanish Beginner and Elementary level for kids and adults. I travel a lot to Spain and bring books and resources for students.
£30
Tulay
  • (1 review)
1st lesson free!

Resources from Spain. Online research or books, pronouncing, live videos recorded videos, music, gameplay, talking,...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile Responds within an hour
Central Eastbourne
Leonor - Central Eastbourne - Spanish
£30
Leonor
  • (10 reviews)

Emphasis on speaking and rapid progress. We offer pronunciation improvement and a focus on communicating in complete...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Bloomsbury
Carolina - Bloomsbury - Spanish
£50
Carolina
  • (9 reviews)

I am a professional tutor with 12,000 hours of experience who aims to motivate students to broaden their curiosity and...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Werrington
Fiona - Werrington - Spanish
£30
Fiona
  • (10 reviews)

I help people of all ages and abilities learn Spanish, English and other languages for exams, holidays or business. Learning...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
at her home at your home By webcam
1 hour £20 £20 Not available
Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable