Jessica - Prof traditional chinese music - London


Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate £25
  • Response Time 24h
See Traditional Chinese Music tutors

Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable

Jessica - Aldgate - Traditional Chinese Music

About the lesson

Hello! Nice to meet you. My name is Jessica. I have just completed my final medical school examinations at University College London and I am due to start work as a junior doctor in August. I have been tutoring part-time since 2012.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

Chemistry, English Literature and Biology at GCSE and A-level and primary and secondary school level English, Science and Maths. I also tutor for the UKCAT and BMAT and many of my students want to get into medicine, so I am able to act as a mentor alongside their main tuition.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I have recently completed my medical school at University College London. I also have a upper second class (2:1) BSc degree in Medical Sciences with Global Health.

I have A-levels in Biology, Chemistry and English Literature, all at grade A (taken before grade A* was introduced at A-level), and also have GCSEs in double award science, English Language and English Literature at grade A*, and GCSE Mathematics at Grade A (specific details of other qualifications available on request).

- How much do you charge?

£25 per hour.

- Where do you teach?

North, Central and East London and Stevenage.

- When are you available?

Currently I am available most evenings and weekends. This is up for negotiation and can be discussed through correspondence.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

Mostly GCSE/A-level and any age above this.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

GCSE, A-level, BMAT and UKCAT

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I can be contacted through skype and possibly other mediums, depending on the individual's needs.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

I am friendly and enthusiastic and able to teach and mentor in an engaging and interactive way. I am good with children of all ages and also able to build good rapport with teenagers and adults. Please contact me via email if you have any questions and I will reply in due course so we can arrange some discussion and a trial session and come to an agreement as to how I can help you.


  • Traditional Chinese Music


  • English


  • All Levels

About Jessica

- What kind of experience do you have?

I have been a private tutor since September 2012, and I have enjoyed every minute of it. I have tutored a wide variety of ages and for various qualification types, but I have found my niche is tutoring people of GCSE level and above in Biology, Chemistry, Maths and English, and also tutoring people for the medical school admissions tests (BMAT and UKCAT).

I started teaching on a volunteer holiday in rural South Africa in the summer months of 2011, where I taught Science, Maths and English in a primary school and held an after-school mentoring position for the children who were struggling in the lessons. Through this experience, I caught the bug for education, and the next year I held a second voluntary role tutoring disabled children in Ghana. I have also held a temporary teaching role in an inner-London school as part of my university course, where I taught sex education to a group of young people in Year 9. I decided to utilise the skills I gained through these challenging teaching experiences in private tuition, and I thoroughly enjoy what I do.

I completed my GCSEs in 2007, completed my A-Levels in 2009 and took the UKCAT and BMAT in 2008.

I am a believer that many of the difficulties children face in school is with confidence in their own ability, and interest in the subject. At the school-age, with classes of up to 30 children, some children can get lost in the masses and a couple of bad grades can make them lose faith in their own intelligence, which becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy. After the school-age, adults may feel as though they are less capable of learning new material than they used to be, and may feel lost as they no longer have the same resources available to them as they did at school. As a tutor, it is my aim to inspire students to become interested in the subjects I love, and to provide them with the confidence and resources to realise they can achieve high grades in a subject they may find challenging. I not only teach people how to pass exams, but I try to teach people how to learn, and I try to make them realise they are capable of being successful in their most challenging subjects.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

I am willing to produce a copy of the DBS disclosure certificate I obtained through working for a charity in 2011, however if satisfactory to the individual I can provide proof of being a medical student - as a medical student I require a completely clean criminal record.

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

I am also a tutor on (concealed information)

- Tell me about some of your current students.

I have a number of current students studying GCSE and A-level..



  • 5h: £125
  • 10h: £250


  • £25/h

Take Traditional Chinese Music lessons with a private tutor

  • Vivienne - Imperial Wharf - Traditional Chinese Music


    Imperial Wharf

    5 (10 reviews)
    • £85/h
  • Kanesalingam - Goodmayes - Traditional Chinese Music



    5 (2 reviews)
    • £30/h
  • Stuart - Meriden - Traditional Chinese Music



    5 (1 reviews)
    • £30/h
  • GuZheng (aka Zither)【古箏】| 10 yr+ teaching exp | Distinction in Performance Diploma (highest level) from the Beijing Chinese Central Conservatory of Music【北京中央音樂學院】



    • £30/h
    • 30mins free
  • Cambridge Student, Dedicated Erhu teacher from traditional musical family, happy to share my experience of music culture from across the world



    • £35/h
    • 1hr free
  • I’m an African famous singer, producer and pianist in China! I can teach you about Chinese music



    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • - Final year student from Uni of Manchester.  - Playing the Chinese flute (dizi) for 11 years.  - Studied in a music boarding school in the UK.  - Won several awards in HK (dm for more)


    • £20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Playing traditional Chinese Musical instrument Pipa and speak Mandarin Chinese in Central Scotland

    Rong Rong

    Bridge of Allan

    • £39/h
    • 1hr free
  • Music is the soundtrack of your life and emotional life of most people.


    Cheng, Malaysia

    • £9/h
    • 30mins free
  • Teaching Erhu, Violin and Piano. Currently studying at Shanghai Conservatory of Music, majoring in Erhu. Learn violin at the age of 7 and piano at the age of 13.


    Butterworth, Malaysia

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • Hi all am here to teach the beautiful soothing ancient African instrument like the mbira/kalimba or marimba?


    , South Africa

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • See more tutors