Homepage Help
Help Tutoring Jobs
£45/h
Tutor profile verified
Response Time 24h
Lessons offered by Judith
  • Individual
  • In group
The lessons will be held
  • at her home
  • at your home
  • By webcam
Taught subjects
  • Support for Students with dyslexia
  • Support For Students With Dyscalculia
Levels
  • All Levels

Judith - Holland Park - Support for Students with dyslexia

Methodology

Passionate about teaching and formerly a university Reader, I am now an independent scholar and tutor. In my post- university career, have delighted in seeing my tutees improve in both grades and confidence - a confirmation I made the right choice!

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

I am considered one of the country's leading interdisciplinary scholars, with a particular expertise in History (my original subject) but also law and criminology. My expertise in using printed sources means that I can also offer teaching in English (language and literature) at A level and GCSE. My expertise in history ranges over a long chronological period, as well as encompassing British, European and international/colonial histories (especially for the eighteenth century to the late twentieth).

- Tell me about your qualifications.

My PhD is in History, gained from the University of Wales in 1982 and I have also a BA (Hons) in History (Lampeter, University of Wales, 1977). I am a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society (since 1995) and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts (since 2002). I have also taken various university workshops on teaching dyslexic and dyspraxic students.

- How much do you charge?

I normally charge £40 per hour for GCSE; £45 for A level/university coaching/UCAS form assistance; and upwards (by negotiation) for university level tuition. I do not charge for travel within London, so long as a venue is within reasonable walking distance of a bus-stop (for me, that distance has to be relatively short!).

- Where do you teach?

I am happy to teach at home (or from home, online and via Skype); I am also prepared to travel to student homes so long as the transport options are feasible.

- When are you available?

Normally, I am available 9-7.30pm Monday to Wednesday and on Friday afternoons and evenings. Normally I am also available at weekends on Sundays by arrangement, after 12pm and up to 8pm.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

Normally, GCSE and A level up to university level (undergraduate and postgraduate); thus normally from ages 14 to 94!

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

GCSE, A Level, International Baccalaureate, BA, MA, PhD. Also Oxbridge entrance and UCAS statement preparation.

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

Via internet (including Chat options) and Skype to provide an opportunity for 'face-to-face' sessions - I find that by experience, Skype teaching can work very well, enabling a maintenance of eye contact while having also the ability for the student to work on the computer and transmit work.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

I look forward to helping you to become interested in and to see the point of your assignments - and their value for you - because it is more than a matter of passing exams. You are likely to have much more to offer than you think, and I look forward to discovering your potential with you.

Background

- What kind of experience do you have?

At university level, I have thirty years of experience at a range of institutions, most recently Nottingham Trent University (1992-2013), where I was a Reader, mainly teaching History but also contributing to Law, Media Studies, Criminology. In the last year, since waving goodbye to formal university lecturing, I have successfully tutored at A level, GCSE, and undergraduate/postgraduate levels, including both dyslexic and dyspraxic students at all these levels, and I have seen real improvements in both grades and the self-confidence of those I have worked with, and further enhancing my understanding of GCSE and A level, especially in the context of the recent modifications of the expectations of what is needed to gain the higher grade, as I was involved - as most university teachers were - in promoting such changes. My focus in the last year has ranged from Modern to Ancient History and Classical Civilisation to English Literature; English Language; Sociology at A and GCSE levels as well as helping with exam practice, coursework, extended projects UCAS statements, Oxbridge applications and interviewing practice. I have helped and supported undergraduate and postgraduate students with essays (structure and analysis advice, to enable them to enhance their skills and insights) as well as dissertations.
In terms of my competences, for History teaching, at first year level I have expertise in world and international history, modern British and European history, imperial history. My specialisms at second and third (and higher) levels include socio-cultural history of the C18th to the present; gender, crime history, philanthropy, history of ideas. I was able to make the transition successfully because, at GCSE and A level, I worked for a range of tutorial agencies and colleges between 1977 and 1992 and have sustained my connection with teaching at that level through successful informal tutoring of the sons and daughters of colleagues and friends. I have also been involved in marking GCSE and A level History and in A level syllabus development through my roles with the Social History Society and the Royal Historical Society. I am also very experienced in helping people with dyslexia and dyspraxia - at both GCSE/A level and university level

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

Yes

- Where and with whom did you train?

No formal training

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

Royal Historical Society
Royal Society of Arts
Royal Society of Medicine (Open Section/History of Medicine)

- Tell me about some of your current students.

Currently, I am tutoring a dyslexic and dyspraxic young man (17), who I successfully tutored through his GCSEs, in his A level History, Classical Civilisation and English. He is, like many students with that combination, highly intelligent and highly frustrated at his inability to cope in class. He also is easily bored, having a quirky mind - and being dyspraxic it is very important for him to have auxiliary questions which a topic on the syllabus can spark off. It is thus necessary to spend time explaining that side-line, and then to return to the main track of the topics for the day's tutorial session. I help to explain what lies behind the questions asked and help him to plan and structure his written work - something he can find particularly challenging.

I am also tutoring via Skype a Dublin based young woman (15) who is dyslexic in her GCSE level History and Classical Civilisation. Again, extremely bright but also easily bored, it is a matter of focusing her on the subject in hand and locating a topic in the wider 'jigsaw' of history (to show why studying a topic has a point) as a preliminary to planning for essays, advising on extra research and reading.

I also help, via Skype, a young woman currently in her final year at Edinburgh University, doing history. Here it is a matter of tutorial guidance, pushing her to consider the implications of what she has found out in her reading, and helping her to see its relevance to a particular assignment - suggesting how, also, she can widen that research and reading along the lines she raises as a consequence and where to look for sources for dissertation and project work..

Rates

Rate for online lessons : £45/h
Lessons offered by Judith
Individual
In group
The lessons will be held
at her home
at your home
webcam
Taught subjects
  • Support for Students with dyslexia
  • Support For Students With Dyscalculia
Levels
  • All Levels

Similar tutors

support for students with dyslexia lessons closeby? Here's a selection of tutor listings that you can check out.
Superprof can also suggest support for students with dyscalculia lessons to help you.

Imperial Wharf
Vivienne - Imperial Wharf - Support for students with ADHD
£50
Vivienne
  • (10 reviews)

I have been teaching secondary for 25 years, tutoring for 22. I am a progressive dyslexia teacher, I encourage the pupil to...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile Responds within an hour
Brook Green
Special Educational Needs support - Dyslexia, Dyspraxia, specific learning difficulties in English, Maths and French
£35
Gaby
  • (6 reviews)
1st lesson free!

My lessons are flexible and adaptable and meet the needs and learning styles of your children. I aim to instil confidence...

Face to face lessons Approved profile
Barnet
Lee - Hampstead Garden Sub - Support for students with ADHD
£40
Lee
  • (10 reviews)

I am the creator of the Magic Link Handwriting Programme. This teaches neat, legible joined-up writing in 30 simple...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Central Westminster
William - Central Westminster - Support for Students with Autism
£75
William

I am one of a small number of the UK's elite "career" tutors. I do not do tutoring on the side of another profession nor fit...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Clapham Common
Rebecca (Bex) - Clapham Common - Support for Students with dyslexia
£75
Rebecca (Bex)
  • (7 reviews)

I'm a Cambridge graduate and an experienced private tutor. I help ambitious students stand out from the crowd with...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Croydon
Zsuzsanna - Thornton Heath - Support for Students with dyslexia
£40
Zsuzsanna
1st lesson free!

I am a fully qualified school teacher with 20+ years' experience, offering tutoring in English and Maths up to GCSE levels....

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Greater London
Top Tutor, Specialising in Dyslexia Support, including organisation, study skills, and more.
£45
Pierina
  • (1 review)
1st lesson free!

I teach children as young as age 3 to read and write, and I have experience working with all ages up to university level. I...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile Responds within an hour
at her home at your home By webcam
1 hour £45 £45 £45
Reserve a lesson