Homepage
Tutoring Jobs
Lucy - Prof maths - London

Lucy

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate £35
  • Response Time 24h
See Maths tutors

Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable

Lucy - West Brompton - Maths

About the lesson

A 28 year old British born and educated tutor with a passion for encouraging, inspiring and motivating students to achieve their academic potential.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

English
Drama
LAMDA/RADA
Drama School Applications
Public Speaking

- Tell me about your qualifications.

Actor - London Academy of Music and Dramatic Arts, London (2009-2011)

1st Class honours degree in English and Drama with Education Studies from the University of Cambridge

A-Level Results
English (A)
Theatre Studies (A)
Biology (A)
Geography (A)

GCSE Results - St Helen's and St Katharine's, Abingdon (2001-2006)
Biology (A*)
Chemistry (A*)
Physics (A*)
Maths (A*)
Geography (A*)
History (A*)
French (A*)
Italian (A*)
Latin (A*)
Ancient Greek (A*)
English Literature (A*)
English Language (A)

- How much do you charge?

Standard rate is £35 per hour

- Where do you teach?

I can tutor from my own home or at the tutee's home at the following locations:
South West London (SW)
West London (W)
East Central London (EC)
North West London (NW)
West London (W)
North London (N)
West Central London (WC)
Harrow (HA)
South East London (SE)
Kingston-on-Thames (KT)
Croydon (CR)
Twickenham (TW)

- When are you available?

Daytime and evenings
Termtime and holiday periods

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

Early Years, Primary, Secondary, University, Adults

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

7+, 9+, 11+, 13+, Common Entrance
GCSE
A Levels
Degree
LAMDA/RADA
Public Speaking Exams

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

Via skype

- Do you have a personal message for students?

My approach is first to always find the areas the student is having the most difficulty with and to break it down to its simplest form to help them understand.

Once a student has understood the basic principle of what we are learning, my approach is to push them as far as I can with their learning - my memory of the best teacher's I had at school were the teacher's who pushed me even further than I needed to go, and who gave me more knowledge and information than I needed to know. I then found that I entered my exams relaxed and confident, knowing that I had excess knowledge. Rather than learning just to answer set questions in an exam, I felt I truly understood those subjects.
Of course, I would play everything by ear though, and I would not pile extra work or information on a tutee if they are still struggling. We will work at a pace that is comfortable but useful for them.
For younger children I will always try to make the experience as much fun as possible also!

subjects

  • Maths
  • School science

languages

  • English

levels

  • Primary
  • Secondary
  • GCSE
  • +8

    AS Level

    A Level

    BTEC

    Adult education

    Undergraduate

    Masters

    Diploma

    Doctorate

About Lucy

- What kind of experience do you have?

Recent tutees:
7 year old boy - Creative Writing
8 year old boy - Reading & Writing Skills
10 year old girl - 11+ English
10 year old boy - Interview Technique
19 year old girl - University Essay Writing
A Level Geography - 5 weeks intensive holiday help
LAMDA students - Drama School Application Guidance
Adult - Public Speaking practice

Further to my one to one private tutoring experience above, I have also worked at a summer day camp in the centre of Oxford for 2 summers running, so I am very capable of working with and getting along with children of any age.
Also, my degree at Cambridge University was in Education studies with English and Drama. Although it was not a teacher training course, the Education Studies module of the degree involved learning an introduction to the philosophy, psychology, sociology and history of education.
Finally, I have been tutoring in London for the last 18 months, and have received very good feedback from my each client.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

To be renewed

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

LAMDA

- Tell me about some of your current students.

Recent Client Testimonials:
“Lucy is an excellent, enthusiastic tutor who does a great job keeping my son interested and engaged. I would highly recommend her.” – Father of tutee.

“As I sit here waiting for Carlo to come out of his Kings exam, I wanted you to thank you for all your help with Carlo. You have been an absolute joy to have around and Carlo took to you immediately - fingers crossed he gets the results he deserves!"

Rates

packages

  • 5h: £175
  • 10h: £350

webcam

  • £35/h

Take Maths lessons with a private tutor

  • Vivienne - Imperial Wharf - Maths

    Vivienne

    Imperial Wharf

    5 (10 reviews)
    • £85/h
  • Imad (BSc,  MSc) Professional full time tutor in Maths, Further Maths, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, General Science

    Imad

    London

    5 (9 reviews)
    • £80/h
  • Maths and Science Tutor with over ten years experience based on South West London teaching children from ages of eight to eighteen

    Desmond

    Wimbledon

    5 (7 reviews)
    • £90/h
  • Muhammad - Hammersmith - Maths

    Muhammad

    Hammersmith

    5 (4 reviews)
    • £50/h
  • Imperial College London Engineering student offering maths and science lessons up to GCSE level

    Rakin

    London

    5 (2 reviews)
    • £20/h
    • 45mins free
  • A pharmacy student offering Maths and double or triple science GCSE level tutoring

    Ali

    London

    5 (2 reviews)
    • £8/h
    • 1hr free
  • Biochemistry student studying at Imperial College London offering chemistry, biology and maths lessons up to A level, as well as 11+ tuition Received 3 A* Grades & 2 A Grades at A-Level

    Gaia

    London

    • £20/h
    • 30mins free
  • Maths Alevel student offering maths lessons up to GCSE level in London

    Roufaida

    London

    • £10/h
    • 1hr free
  • Second Year student at Durham University studying Biosciences to tutor Maths and Sciences at GCSE level and below.

    Martha

    • £12/h
    • 1hr free
  • Electrical and Electronic Engineering student at Imperial offering Maths, Physics and Chemistry lessons for GCSE and A-level

    Patricia

    London

    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Engineering student offering Maths and Science lessons in London up to GCSE level

    Rhiannon

    London

    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • GCSE math's tutoring and all primary school STEM subjects (all exam boards)

    Rijul

    London

    • £20/h
    • 30mins free
  • A-level biology chemistry Maths and Further maths student with straight 9’s in GCSE offering tutoring for maths and all sciences upto A-level.

    Nina

    London

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • Highly experienced ex-Cambridge Natural Sciences and current Imperial Graduate Medicine Student offering Maths and Science tuition to all levels in London and online

    Zara

    London

    • £70/h
    • 30mins free
  • First class Mechanical engineering graduate offering tutoring in maths physics and chemistry up to university level

    Jack

    London

    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Biomedical Engineer student at Imperial College London, offering tutoring for Maths, Science (Biology, Physics), French, English etc. Based in Fulham but can go out further

    Cassandra

    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Senior school teacher has vacancies face to face and online for lessons in Science including Biology, Chemistry and Physics.  I complete all syllabus and curriculum's and have 25 years experience.

    Vienne

    • £95/h
  • Educated and experienced father who enjoys teaching Maths and Physics to focused pre-teen kids.

    Muqit

    London

    • £40/h
    • 1hr free
  • Maths student offering maths and science tutoring for a level and below!

    Michele

    London

    • £30/h
    • 1hr free
  • Biology teacher offering Science lessons (chemistry, physics and also maths) in South London preferably but also Spanish lessons as Spanish is my mother tongue.

    Ainhoa

    London

    • £20/h
    • 45mins free
  • See more tutors