Homepage Help
Help Tutoring Jobs
Isleworth 
Isleworth 
  • (6 reviews)
S
Simon
« I've been learning Italian from Margherita since January 2014 (once a... More »
S
Simon
« I've been learning Italian from Margherita since January 2014 (once a week). Her lessons are well-organised, fun, and challenging. From the very beginning Margherita made me feel comfortable speaking in Italian (I am pretty much a beginner), she is patient, funny, and generous. Margherita also adapts superbly to different learning and teaching situations (including when things are a bit busy for me at work). I recommend her without reservation. »
£30/h
Profile and degree verified
Response Time 24h
Lessons offered by Margherita
  • Individual
  • In group
The lessons will be held
  • at her home
  • at your home
  • By webcam
Taught subjects
  • ESOL (English)
  • Cambridge First Certificate FCE
Levels
  • All Levels

Margherita - Northfields - ESOL (English)

Methodology

Hi!
I'm Margherita and I'm a CLTA qualified teacher. I'm Italian and I teach Italian, Spanish, English for beginners and interpreting and translation techniques.
I give individual and group classes to any age students, with an engaging method.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

I teach Italian and Spanish at all levels and to any age students and English for beginners.
I am a friendly person and my classes include a lot of interesting cultural and literary references as part of the process of second language acquisition.

I also teach how to make a proper translation, including the right tools to use and techniques, and I train interpreters for simultaneous and consecutive interpreting.

During my classes I make extensive use of books, films, music, newspapers and the internet, providing a complete and enjoyable way of learning and training.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I obtained the CLTA (Certificate in teaching Italian to adults) following the International House training course in London and the GCSLTA (Certificate in teaching Spanish to adults) following the Instituto Cervantes training course in London.
I also am a DELE A1/A2 examiner.

I have a BA in "Interpretation and translation" - Private University in Cagliari and a Master Degree cum laude in "Literary Translation" - Foreign Languages and Literatures - University of Cagliari.

I obtained the Spanish C2 level with the DELE- Diploma of Spanish as Foreign Language

I attended the "Herzog Specialization course in Literary translation" in Rome following the Spanish lab.

- How much do you charge?

The standard rate for my services is £ 30 per hour for individual classes. - 40 one hour and a half - 50 two hours.
£ 25 per hour each in two-people groups - 35 each one hour and a half - 45 each two hours
£ 20 per hour each in three - people groups - 25 each one hour and a half - 35 each two hours

If you buy a 10 classes package in advance, one is free.

I usually arrange a first meeting, free of charge - in order to know each other and discuss the student's needs.

I live in West London, if I need to travel outside zone 1 and 2 I will charge £5 more to cover the cost of the bus/tube/train (only east side)

- Where do you teach?

I am happy to give classes both at home and at the student's home or office.

- When are you available?

I'm available from Monday to Friday from 9am to 9pm. (weekends can be arranged)

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I teach Italian and Spanish at all levels and any age, from infants to adults.

The English classes are just for beginners or pre-intermediate level.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

I can prepare students for GCSE, A-Level, Celi (Certificato di Conoscenza della Lingua Italiana), CILS (Certificazione di Italiano come Lingua Straniera) and DELE ( Diplomas of Spanish as a Foreign Language) form level A1 to C2.

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I give online classes using Skype

- Do you have a personal message for students?

Do you want to break the linguistic barrier between you and some of the most sunny and nice countries in Europe? Let's do it!
Italian is a not a common language, that's why learning it could be useful in your job, it could be a great advantage; and if you simply want to learn a nice unusual language, Italian is absolutely perfect and it will be very satisfactory to use it during your Italian holiday!

Spanish is one of the most spoken languages in the world, and learning it is fun and useful at the same time, you can't lose the opportunity to be part of the wonderful Hispanic world.

If you're Italian or Spanish and you recently arrived here there are a lot of things to learn about how to communicate and to move around London, and I can help you with that.

And finally, if you already know Italian, Spanish and/or English and you want to start your career as an interpreter or translator, there are many things and strategies to learn and I will be happy to teach you how to do it!

With me you're not just learning a language, but a lifestyle, a culture and everything related to that, it's a completely new world to discover together.

Languages are the best way to feel a citizen of the world!

Background

- What kind of experience do you have?

My previous experience as a teacher is mostly in the private sector.
I have been teaching in Italy and in London for ten years, giving individual and group classes of Spanish, English and Italian, with different aged students, from infants to adults and students with learning disabilities like dyslexia. I have also taught Spanish (all levels) and Italian (all levels) in small courses for a Language association and in a Private University in my native city.
I have been examiner for GCSE and A-Level Italian exams for the past four years and examiner and trainer for Spanish for the past two years.
I have experience in language academies here in London and I have been teaching here for the past 4 years.
During these years I gained a great experience in how to create a friendly and comfortable atmosphere, with a special attention to my student's needs and requests. My classes are conceived according to the student's needs, and I always try to keep the student's attention with a positive attitude.

I am an Italian mother tongue but I am allowed to teach Spanish as well like a mother tongue as I am a C2 level Spanish speaker.

Concerning English, I've been teaching for years only to a beginner or intermediate level, so I gained my main experience with this level of education.

I'm a highly experienced interpreter and translator as well, so I'm glad to give translation and interpretation classes.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

Not yet, but on the process of getting one.

Parents are very welcome to sit in on sessions with their children.

- Where and with whom did you train?

I obtained the CLTA qualification following the International House training course with Ferruccio Pastore and Erica Cavagnoli as tutors.

- Tell me about some of your current students.

I am preparing several students for their Spanish A-Levels and GCSES.
I am conducting Italian courses for employees of Italian companies based here in London, teaching general and business Italian.
I have 9 extra private students for general Italian and general Spanish.

I am preparing a young boy for a B1 DELE certification.

Rates

Rate for online lessons : £30/h
Lessons offered by Margherita
Individual
In group
The lessons will be held
at her home
at your home
webcam
Taught subjects
  • ESOL (English)
  • Cambridge First Certificate FCE
Levels
  • All Levels

Margherita's CV

• CLTA Qualified Teacher Italian and Spanish
• BA in Foreign Languages, Private University for interpreters and translators , MA in Literary Translation. Final mark: 110/110 cum Laude
• No CRB yet, but in the process of getting one.

6 reviews on Margherita
  • 5/5

All our ratings are collected by us and are given in confidence, they correspond to a real experience.

6 recommendations

S
Simon

I've been learning Italian from Margherita since January 2014 (once a week). Her lessons are well-organised, fun, and challenging. From the very beginning Margherita made me feel comfortable speaking in Italian (I am pretty much a beginner), she is patient, funny, and generous. Margherita also adapts superbly to different learning and teaching situations (including when things are a bit busy for me at work). I recommend her without reservation.

B
Boyce

Margherita's teaching is incredibly creative, she finds clever ways to play to the strengths of her pupils and work on their weaknesses, too. It's refreshing that we're not just working through a pre-packaged curriculum, like you do in a lot of language courses. Margherita works hard to create individual lesson plans which are challenging and fun, too. I thoroughly recommend her lessons!

L
Luigi

I'm glad to express my appreciation for Miss Spanu, who gave Spanish classes to my 17 year daughter. She has been expert, efficient, punctual and meticulous. She reached unbelievable results with my daughter ( who suffer from dyslexia), revealing herself priceless, not just for the knowledge of language but from a psychological point of view as well.
She has a great relationship with the world of young people. She's responsible and offered us a quality service. We are very satisfied of her job

Similar tutors

esol (english) lessons closeby? Here's a selection of tutor listings that you can check out.
Superprof can also suggest cambridge first certificate fce lessons to help you.

Greenford
David - Greenford - ESOL (English)
£25
David
  • (2 reviews)

I get on extremely well with students of all ages and abilities. I teach students at Uxbridge college. This helps me get a...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Ealing Broadway
Hannah - Ealing Broadway - ESOL (English) and Accent Softening from beginner to advanced
£30
Hannah
  • (12 reviews)
1st lesson free!

I'm a friendly and organised teacher of singing and EFL. I've had great results with past students and have successfully...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Kingston
Sarah - Kingston - ESOL (English)
£60
Sarah
  • (6 reviews)

Hello, my name is Sarah. I am a full time English tutor with over 25 years experience. My lessons are always tailored to the...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Streatham
Mary - Streatham - ESOL (English)
£40
Mary
  • (5 reviews)

I am a warm, encouraging teacher, who focuses on creating a relaxed atmosphere in order to build confidence and relieve...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
New Malden
Suzanne - New Malden - ESOL (English)
£30
Suzanne
  • (3 reviews)

Having taught for many years I now devote myself to tutoring children of all ages. I love to see children reach their...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Southfields
Shahriar - Southfields - ESOL (English)
£40
Shahriar
  • (3 reviews)

I am a friendly, highly qualified and experienced native speaking English language tutor providing a supportive and...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Richmond
Aisha - Richmond - ESOL (English)
£40
Aisha
  • (2 reviews)

Hello! My name is Aisha Ross and I am a graduate of The London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art. I work as an actor, artist...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
at her home at your home By webcam
1 hour £30 £30 £30
Reserve a lesson