Marian - Prof ukcat - Fen Ditton

Marian

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate £30
  • Response Time 24h
See Ukcat tutors

Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable

Marian - The Wilbrahams - Ukcat

    • Fen Ditton
    • at their home
    • at your home

Super Prof

Marian is one of our best tutors. They have a high-quality profile, verified qualifications, a quick response time, and great reviews from students!

About the lesson

I am a kind, patient and approachable tutor, examiner and best-selling exams author. I promise to help you reach your personal goals quickly and enjoyably.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

English language, English literature, English as a Second language, creative writing and media studies.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I have an honours degree in English from Sussex Univeristy, a Post Graduate Certificate of Education, and an RSA Diploma in Teaching English as a Second language. I am an author of ten best selling books for students which are published by Cambridge University Press (Education). I do continuous professional development to benefit my students.

- How much do you charge?

I charge between £25-30 per hour. I offer a reduced rate for packages of five or ten sessions, usually at 2 hours per session Discounts are possible for pairs or small groups.

- Where do you teach?

I teach in my peaceful and tranquil home environment which is well equipped for learning. I provide light refreshments. I am willing to negotiate travel to students' homes up to a radius of 20 miles. Travel expenses are negotiable and depend on distance travelled. I am situated between Cambridge, Haverhill and Newmarket, and also near to Saffron Walden and Royston. I am close to the villages of Sawston, Babraham, Great Shelford, Linton, Great Chesterford, Duxford, Balsham, Bottisham and the Wilbrahams. There is easy access from the A11, A14 and M11. Private parking is available. My nearest train stations are at Whittlesford, Great Shelford, Royston and Cambridge. I am on the 13 bus route which goes between Cambridge and Haverhill every 30 minutes and stops close to my house.

- When are you available?

I work flexibly to accommodate my clients and am available weekdays and weekends, from early morning to evening, by arrangement.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

From 7 years to adults of any age.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

KS2 and KS3, GCSE, IGCSE, BTEC, A level, AS Level, IELTS, KET, PET, First Certificate, CAE, Cambridge Proficiency, University Entrance, Pre-U etc.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

Believe you can do it. If you want it enough, you will get it.

subjects

  • Ukcat

languages

  • English

levels

  • Primary
  • Secondary
  • GCSE
  • +8

    AS Level

    A Level

    BTEC

    Adult education

    Undergraduate

    Masters

    Diploma

    Doctorate

About Marian

- What kind of experience do you have?

I have experience with children up to 16, young people of 16+ and adults. I have worked in colleges of further education teaching and managing learning, taught business executives in companies, trained scientists and other professionals in English for reports and proposals and related skills such as making presentations and public speaking.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

I have an up to date enhanced CRB clearance.

- Where and with whom did you train?

I trained at the University of Sussex, the University of London and Harrow College, London.

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

I am a member of the University and College Teachers' Union; the Institute for Learning and the Authors' and Copywriters' Licensing Society.

- Tell me about some of your current students.

My current students are very different. Milly (17) is doing A level English language, Tom is studying for IELTS so he can do a medical degree, Holly (14) has dyslexia and needs help with basic reading and writing, Martin is a company director who wants to improve his confidence when presenting to clients.

Rates

packages

  • 5h: £150
  • 10h: £300

Take Ukcat lessons with a private tutor

  • Chris- Exeter tutor for all levels in French and German. In your own home Ukcat

    Chris

    Exeter

    5 (22 reviews)
    • £44/h
    • 1hr free
  • Fletcher - Aylesbury - Health and social care

    Fletcher

    Aylesbury

    5 (12 reviews)
    • £35/h
  • Final Year Medical Student at King's College London, Offering support for  medical students and medical admissions - I scored top 1% globally on the medical admission exams

    Connor

    London

    5 (11 reviews)
    • £50/h
    • 30mins free
  • Struggling with UCAT prep? After achieving a score of 2880 - in the top 10% of my year - I know all the tips to help you ace your admissions tests! ALSO TUTORING MEDICAL INTERVIEWS!!!

    Hannah

    Wardle

    5 (11 reviews)
    • £30/h
  • Eleni - Charlton Park - Ukcat

    Helen

    London

    4.9 (10 reviews)
    • £45/h
  • STEPHEN - Shirland - Ukcat

    STEPHEN

    Shirland

    5 (10 reviews)
    • £30/h
  • Fred - Beckenham - Ukcat

    Fred

    Beckenham

    5 (10 reviews)
    • £70/h
  • Dental Student Offering Help with the UCAT and Dentistry/Medicine University Applications

    Maha

    Manchester

    5 (9 reviews)
    • £23/h
    • 30mins free
  • Extremely experienced postgraduate offers UKCAT lessons in Quantitative Reasoning and Abstract Reasoning

    Rob

    Wembley Park

    5 (9 reviews)
    • £30/h
    • 30mins free
  • GCSE, A Level and Degree Level Music lessons in Holborn with composer with MPhil in Acoustic Composition

    Polly

    London

    4.9 (9 reviews)
    • £45/h
  • I'm a 1st-year Imperial medical student offering one-to-one online tutoring for medical school admissions including preparation for the UCAT, BMAT and interviews.

    Chirag

    London

    5 (8 reviews)
    • £30/h
    • 1hr free
  • Oxford University Medical student. BMAT tutoring, PS feedback & Mock interview practice to improve your UCAS application for Medicine.

    Emma

    London

    5 (8 reviews)
    • £35/h
  • Experienced Anatomy, Medicine, UCAT & Science Tutor - Medical Student from King's College London.

    Nikhil

    Banstead

    5 (7 reviews)
    • £30/h
  • 5th Year Dental Student with 14A*'s, 6A's at GCSE and A*A*Aa + A* at A level

    Mohammad

    Edgware

    5 (7 reviews)
    • £60/h
    • 30mins free
  • Teaching Interview practice from experienced tutor, Med student at Uni of Southampton

    Jane

    5 (6 reviews)
    • £23/h
    • 1hr free
  • Dr T - Carfax - Gamsat

    Dr Parikh

    Oxford

    5 (6 reviews)
    • £45/h
  • Julia Jane - Wandsworth Town - Ukcat

    Julia Jane

    Wandsworth Town

    5 (5 reviews)
    • £60/h
  • 3rd year medical student offering high standard online UCAT coaching and exam technique - can also help with personal statements

    Hassan

    Walsall

    5 (5 reviews)
    • £30/h
    • 30mins free
  • Ambitious to make your med school prep as easy and productive as possible!

    Arya

    London

    5 (2 reviews)
    • £20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Engaging and Informative UKCAT or medicine interview tutoring, from an experienced tutor and current medical student and nurse.

    Emily

    Nottingham

    5 (2 reviews)
    • £12/h
    • 30mins free
  • See more tutors