Homepage Help
Help Tutoring Jobs
£20/h
Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable
Profile and degree verified
Response Time 24h
Lessons offered by Marie
  • Individual
  • In group
The lessons will be held
  • at her home
  • at your home
  • By webcam
Taught subjects
  • 13 Plus
  • International Baccalaureate
Levels
  • All Levels

Marie - Bath - 13 Plus

Methodology

I teach all ages and have experience in tuition from 5 years old to retired adults. I am helping many students preparing for the GCSE, especially with the new reform, to fill the gap and master the language at this level, also for A Level.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

French and Spanish, Hindi for beginners

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I have a four year university degree (Maîtrise FLE) from Toulouse University, in teaching foreign languages, specialising in French. I also have a post graduate European degree of the same kind (DUEFEL). I have a PGCE, NVQ Assessor Award for languages.

- How much do you charge?

I charge £30 to £40 an hour, £20 for Hindi beginners.

- Where do you teach?

Online or in Bath, UK. I teach from home or within the city.

- When are you available?

My teaching time is very changeable from term to term, I am available during the day or evenings, and week-ends. I am also available during most of the school holidays.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I teach all ages from 5 years old. Between 5 and 10, children are like sponges and absorb a lot the language through repetition and through games. With online tuition it is more difficult to cater the needs of younger children, but with the advance in online technology, it is becoming easier and also fun to tutor children, from 8/9 years old.
I teach school students and occasionally university students. My fees for higher French is still reasonable as I haven't had many opportunities to teach university students, but please contact me if you need help and we can assess if I can help you. I have experience in essay writing and I also teach the A1 to C2 levels corresponding to the European Framework for Languages.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

13+, GCSE, IGCSE, A Level and the European Baccalaureate. I can prepare students for other exams.

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

Online tuition is much more user friendly than it appears. I give a first free session, when we can discuss the modalities of the tuition and I can show you how it works. I use Zoom (more stable than Skype because it takes less bandwidth) and BitPaper. I send material by email when necessary.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

For the students who have to or who decide to embark on the adventure of learning a language, I would like to encourage them wholeheartedly to take a few risks, make some mistakes and learn by doing, focus on grammatical patterns and the flow of the language, recognise the similarities and embrace the differences between English and realise that you are creating so many communicative opportunities. Whether you are studying for an exam that may affect your future or are planning a business trip or holiday, don't leave it to the last minute

Background

- What kind of experience do you have?

I have been teaching for around twenty years, in Spain and UK mainly. I have prepared the secondary school pupils to the common 13+ exam, GCSE, A Level and the European Baccalaureate. I am tutoring pupils of this age and also primary school pupils, from five years old children, in one to one tuition or small groups. I also do after school clubs. last but not least, I teach adults who come to me for different reasons, tourism, a foreign partner, a house in the foreign country, etc. or professional reasons.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

Yes

- Where and with whom did you train?

I did my PGCE with Westminster College/Oxford Brookes University. I studied in France (Toulouse-Le-Mirail University) and did some of my European Degree in Mons (Belgium. University) and Barcelona (Spain. University and The cultural office of the French Embassy).

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

I am a member of the Association of Tutors.

- Tell me about some of your current students.

I have many students preparing GCSE, children from 5 years old, adults from beginners to C1 level at the moment etc. For both French and Spanish.

Rates

Rate for online lessons : £20/h
Lessons offered by Marie
Individual
In group
The lessons will be held
at her home
at your home
webcam
Taught subjects
  • 13 Plus
  • International Baccalaureate
Levels
  • All Levels

Rates

Rate for online lessons : £20/h

Marie's CV

• European postgraduate degree in teaching foreign languages
• PGCE
• DBS certificate with enhanced disclosure
• The Association of Tutors

Similar tutors

13 plus lessons closeby? Here's a selection of tutor listings that you can check out.
Superprof can also suggest international baccalaureate lessons to help you.

Harrow on the Hill
AATP - Harrow on the Hill - School English
£20
AATP
Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Codsall
Highly experienced and dedicated English teacher, Oxbridge educated - lessons that engage and transform your grades and leraning
£30
Serena
1st lesson free!
Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
at her home at your home By webcam
1 hour £20 £20 £20
Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable