Marnie - Prof ukcat - London

Marnie

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate £20
  • Response Time 24h
See Ukcat tutors

Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable

Marnie - Hackney Marsh - Ukcat

About the lesson

I hope to be able to use my academic experience to help other students get the results they deserve through stimulating lessons and support.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

I teach a range of subjects including English, Geography and Drama. My specialism is History, which I teach to degree level.
As listed above I can also tutor in University Entrance exams and a number of other academic offshoots.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I achieved a Double First in Modern History at Keble College, Oxford University. I was awarded the Oxford University Scholar's Prize.
A A A A in History, English, Geography and Drama with an A at AS Critical Thinking
6 A*, 2 A's and a B at GCSE

- How much do you charge?

£20 per hour plus travelling fares outside of zone 3.
For Degree level History I charge £25 per hour.

- Where do you teach?

I can travel to most places within London that are accessible by public transport.

I am happy to teach at my home or at the student's home.

Places I am prepared to travel to include Central London, Camden, Islington, Hackney, Stoke Newington, Finsbury Park, Arsenal, Maida Vale, Highgate, Hammersmith, Kensington and many more places.

- When are you available?

My freelance hours mean I can work during the week and at the weekend. I am happy to work in the mornings, afternoons or evenings. Please get in touch to talk about specific dates you would like me to work on.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I can teach inclusively from children to early teens to young adults.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

11 plus, 13 plus, GCSE, A-Level, Degree

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

Firstly I would have an introductory Skype call so that I could best understand the student and parent's needs. I would then tailor a lesson programme to these needs and set the work via email with clear instructions. Following on from this I would run a virtual lesson to go through the work over Skype with the student and then afterwards follow this up with any notes or thoughts on progress made via email.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

If you have any queries at all then please don't hesitate to get in touch.
I can send references on request and also my CV.
I try to respond to any emails/queries within 2 hours.

subjects

  • Ukcat

languages

  • English

levels

  • Primary
  • Secondary
  • GCSE
  • +8

    AS Level

    A Level

    BTEC

    Adult education

    Undergraduate

    Masters

    Diploma

    Doctorate

About Marnie

- What kind of experience do you have?

I have tutored students for GCSE exams, which included helping with revision plans, testing and creating topic revision sheets for the subjects.
I have tutored a student through her A-level History and English, which included going through essay-writing skills and providing structured feedback to practice essays.
I have tutored a student through Oxford Entrance to study History and I subsequently tutored her through her finals. This involved providing topic revision sheets as a guideline and giving detailed notes on all essays.

For essay writing/ proof reading I have experience as a Script Editor for Television Drama.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

Yes I do.

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

I work as a freelance script writer represented by Independent Talent Agency.
I also belong to the Ministry of Stories in Hoxton, which is a literacy mentoring programme to help schoolchildren in the local area.

Rates

packages

  • 5h: £100
  • 10h: £200

webcam

  • £20/h

Take Ukcat lessons with a private tutor

  • Junior Doctor and King's College London Graduate, Offering support for  medical students and medical admissions - I scored top 1% globally on the medical admission exams

    Connor

    London

    5 (11 reviews)
    • £50/h
    • 30mins free
  • Raphael - Highgate - Ukcat

    UK Study Centre

    London

    5 (10 reviews)
    • £65/h
  • Eleni - Charlton Park - Ukcat

    Helen

    London

    4.9 (10 reviews)
    • £45/h
  • Vivienne - Imperial Wharf - Gamsat

    Vivienne

    Imperial Wharf

    5 (10 reviews)
    • £85/h
  • Helen - Clapton - Ukcat

    Helen

    London

    5 (10 reviews)
    • £70/h
  • Oxford University Medical student. BMAT tutoring, PS feedback & Mock interview practice to improve your UCAS application for Medicine.

    Emma

    London

    5 (8 reviews)
    • £35/h
  • I'm a 2nd-year Imperial medical student offering one-to-one online tutoring for medical school admissions including preparation for the UCAT, BMAT and interviews.

    Chirag

    London

    5 (8 reviews)
    • £30/h
    • 1hr free
  • Cambridge English graduate with 15 yrs teaching experience, essay and interview specialist

    Rebecca (Bex)

    Clapham Common

    5 (7 reviews)
    • £90/h
  • Oxford Medicine and PPE graduate -Specialist UCAT Tutor with 5 years + Experience!

    Abdullah

    London

    5 (6 reviews)
    • £20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Julia Jane - Wandsworth Town - Ukcat

    Julia Jane

    Wandsworth Town

    5 (5 reviews)
    • £60/h
  • 5th year graduate medical student at Imperial College London with a degree in Biomedical Science.

    Marina

    5 (5 reviews)
    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Emma - Greater London - Ukcat

    Emma

    Greater london

    5 (4 reviews)
    • £50/h
  • BMAT/UCAT/medicine admissions lessons from 4th year Cambridge University medical student with 4 years of experience.

    Aly

    London

    5 (4 reviews)
    • £30/h
  • University of Cambridge Medical Student willing to tutor in admission exams or interview prep.

    Riyaad

    London

    5 (2 reviews)
    • £30/h
    • 1hr free
  • 2nd year Dental student available for help/ support with all things related to Dentistry. UCAT, personal statement, revision techniques, A Levels ect.

    Anushka

    London

    5 (2 reviews)
    • £10/h
    • 1hr free
  • Anna - Willesden Green - Ukcat

    Anna

    Willesden Green

    5 (2 reviews)
    • £50/h
  • Jason - Ravenscourt Park - Ukcat

    Jason

    Ravenscourt Park

    5 (2 reviews)
    • £37/h
  • Qualfied doctor (SpR) who teaches all medical topics, and I make it concise and easy so you ace your exams!

    Dev

    London

    5 (1 reviews)
    • £70/h
    • 1hr free
  • Imperial College Medical student with 3 years of experience tutoring medical admissions including personal statement, UCAT, BMAT, and interview prep! I'll help you every step of the way!

    Karen

    5 (1 reviews)
    • £20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Louis - Sloane Square - Ukcat

    Louis

    Sloane Square

    5 (1 reviews)
    • £130/h
  • See more tutors