Homepage Help
Help Tutoring Jobs
Norwich 
£12
Norwich 
1st lesson free!
£12 /h
1st lesson free!
Norwich 
Joanne
New teacher
Profile and degree verified
Replies in 24 hours

Mathematics graduate (2:1) and former Teaching Assistant available in Norwich to help you at home with your studies however I can. Very flexible, patient and honest. No frills, friendly but profession

I'm Jo and am about to return to studying from home myself for a Masters Psychology Conversion Degree. I have a 2:1 Mathematics degree and I'm offering to help anybody studying up to degree level Maths, any age and in whatever capacity you need me to. So, maybe you have a child who needs help with their homework, maybe your an adult learner returning to study for the first time in many years and feel that you are struggling somewhat or simply need a bit of reassurance you're doing things correctly. Whatever your needs are I can discuss them with you, even if you're not sure exactly what you need right now.

Please note, any lessons bought as part of a bundle must be paid for up front. This cost is non-refundable unless notice of cancellation is given seven days in advance. Further discounts negotiable for bulk booking of sessions.

I teach maths, algebra, arithmetic, statistics. For the level(s)primary, secondary, GCSE, as level, a level, BTEC, adult education, undergraduate, masters, diploma, doctorate.
I give lessons in person, at my home or the student's home.
I give lessons by Webcam.

Joanne's Experience

I have two years experience as a Teaching Assistant in high schools in Norwich with students from all key stages in mixed ability lessons. I have experience of one-to-one, small group and full classroom support in many subject areas but mostly Maths. I also have lots of experience of working with SEN students, mostly students with dyslexia, ADHD, autism, behavioural issues etc so have learned how to keep studying on track and students focussed without being overly authoritarian. My main assett is an ability to express maths and problem solving in 'layman's' terms or in different ways I think people may understand better or which they find easier or more comfortable with. I empathise with the student and understand everybody learns in different ways and many need a different approach to teaching style or method.

Joanne's CV

Joanne Holt



Personal Profile



I am an experienced Learning Support Assistant with an aptitude and passion for working with children with a range of behavioural difficulties. I am hard working, excellent at multi-tasking and calm and resilient under pressure. I am now looking to return to a role that will enable me to utilise my previous skills and experience and also to compliment my MA Psychology studies which I begin this year.



Key Skills



Experience of supporting SEN students across all year groups in high school, working with students with behavioural issues, ADHD and dyslexia

Experience of supervising and teaching small groups, supporting single students, whole classroom support, lunch room supervisor & invigilator

IT literate, European Computer Driving Licence Level 2

People management skills to supervisory level



Employment History



10/2012 - present: Domestic Cleaner / e-bay trader (self-employed)



04/2010 -09/2012 : Mother / Homemaker



09/2009 - 03/2010: The Hewett School, Norwich

Learning Support Assistant



09/2008 - 08/2009: Sewell Park College, Norwich

Learning Support Assistant



12/2003 - 08/2008: Mother / Home Maker



06/2002 -04/2003: OSR Recruitment / Adecco Recruitment

Temporary Agency Roles (Data Entry / Solderer)



01/2000 - 09/2002: Aviva, Norwich

Administrative Team Leader (02/2002 - 09/2002)

Responsible for 6-10 database administrators. Supervising

Monitoring and control of work flow and performance

Reviewing and improving processes, attending meetings and

dealing with more complex tasks and complaints

Insurance Broker Advisor (02/2000 - 01/2002)



Page Break




Education



09/1996 -07/1999: University of Northumbria

BSc (HONS) Mathematics with Business Administration, 2:1



09/1995 - 07/1996: Newcastle City College

HEFC Mathematics – Distinction

HEFC I.T. – Distinction

HEFC Psychology – Credit



09/1985 - 07/1989: Earlham High School

7 GCSE’s, 3 at C or above: Maths (B), English (B), English Lit (C)



Further Courses/Training



2016 - Present: Various Short Courses Through Universities:

Mostly studying children, psychology, study skills and criminology



05/2012 - 07/2012: European Computer Driving Licence Level 1-2

MS Word, Excel, Access & Powerpoint online training



09/2011 - 01/2012: Introduction to Psychology, Open University



06/2010 - 08/2010: Introduction to Counselling, Training Associate



12/2008 - 02/2009: Induction Training for T.A.'s, Norwich PDC



Interests/Hobbies



I love studying and view learning as a lifelong experience. Sometimes this is formal academic study but sometimes just a short course for personal interest.

Health and wellbeing have become more important to me recently. I enjoy cooking healthy meals and experimenting with foods or cuisines I've never tried before. I've recently joined a leisure centre where I swim regularly and am about to take up exercise classes.

Having fun is of great importance to me and I'm a bit of a thrill seeker. I love going to theme parks, water parks, go-carting and doing the odd bungee jump. I have a huge bucket list of things to do and places to go as I also love travelling.

Similar tutors

maths lessons closeby? Here's a selection of tutor listings that you can check out.
Superprof can also suggest algebra lessons to help you.
Learning isn't a problem, arithmetic lessons for all!
Taking statistics lessons has never been easier: you're going to learn new skills.

Norwich
Accounting and Finance undergraduate student offering tutoring services for Business Studies, Accounting, Mathematics and English.
£15
Samiullah
1st lesson free!
Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Cringleford
From year 1 to year 13 Math lessons. GCSE and A levels preparation lessons
£30
Hidir
1st lesson free!
Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Norwich
Former A* GCSE Maths Student, Teaching Primary and Secondary Maths in a Friendly environment
£14
Kyle
  • (2 reviews)
1st lesson free!
Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Norwich
Here to make learning Math simple and fun, from Primary through to A Level
£24
Oliver
1st lesson free!
Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Cringleford
Warwick Undergraduate Maths student having taken STEP tutoring around Coventry and Norwich for Primary to A-Level
£12
Lota
  • (1 review)
1st lesson free!
Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Norwich
Recent 1st degree physics graduate offering lessons to A-Level or lower students in Physics/Maths in Norwich
£10
Ryan
1st lesson free!
Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Norwich
1st year UEA student sharing love of mathematics at a range of levels
£8
Abbie
1st lesson free!
Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Cringleford
Maths tutor - Recent Durham University Graduate in music giving Maths lessons to GCSE level and below, with Maths A Level and further mathematics experience
£9
Gaby
1st lesson free!
Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
at her home at your home By webcam
1 hour £12 £12 £12
5 hours £50 £50 £60
10 hours £95 £95 £120
Reserve a lesson
£12 /h