Nicola - Prof early years education - Winnersh

Nicola

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate £25
  • Response Time 24h
See Early Years Education tutors

Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable

Nicola - Winnersh - Early Years Education

    • Winnersh
    • at their home
    • at your home

About the lesson

I am a fully qualified teacher with many years' experience of tutoring. I offer personalised tuition for your child in your own home.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

I teach English and Maths at primary level (up to age 11).

All aspects of English including reading comprehension, textual analysis, handwriting, grammar, punctuation, and writing in all genres of fiction and non-fiction and poetry.

Mathematics from basic skills to KS2. I have an excellent understanding of progression and use this to "fill in the gaps" of knowledge which enables children to move forwards.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I have a PGCE in General Primary (5-11) from the University of Reading. I also have a BA(Hons) Classical Studies and English, and an MA in Classical Studies. I have a solid knowledge of Maths to A-Level.

- How much do you charge?

Each session is £25, plus a travel charge depending on where you live. This is for an hour's individual tuition with a flexible few extra minutes for us to discuss your child's progress. I tutor throughout the year including school holidays. As well as regular sessions, I can offer ad-hoc school holiday booster sessions.

- Where do you teach?

As I find that children learn best in a familiar environment, tuition takes place in your home. I travel to Reading, Bracknell and Wokingham; other areas may be possible so please ask.

- When are you available?

Lessons take place on weekdays at 4pm or 5:30pm. I also offer courses of booster sessions in the daytime during school holidays which are useful to prevent the "dip" that children tend to experience after time away from school.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 (ages 5-11).

- Do you have a personal message for students?

Thinking and problem-solving skills are at the heart of my tuition, as well as boosting confidence to ensure that your child will be comfortable tackling trickier concepts as they progress through school. Each child has their own programme of study which has been worked out according to their requirements and changes depending on the results of ongoing assessment. My approach alters to suit the individual, teaching through visual, auditory and kinaesthetic mediums, as well as a Kumon-style element where appropriate.

subjects

  • Early Years Education

languages

  • English

levels

  • Primary
  • Secondary
  • GCSE
  • +8

    AS Level

    A Level

    BTEC

    Adult education

    Undergraduate

    Masters

    Diploma

    Doctorate

About Nicola

- What kind of experience do you have?

I taught across the primary age range (3-11) in state schools from 2006-2011, and have marked KS2 English SATs from 2008 onwards. Since April 2011, I have been a private tutor.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

Yes.

- Where and with whom did you train?

The University of Reading, 2005-6. I completed my NQT year in West Berkshire in 2007.

- Tell me about some of your current students.

There are a range of ages and abilities among the students who I currently teach, including academically gifted children and those with special educational needs. The majority of students begin working with me due to a lack of confidence at school which is causing them to fall behind. I offer a long-term solution which supports their schooling and enables them to reach their full potential.

Rates

packages

  • 5h: £125
  • 10h: £250

Take Early Years Education lessons with a private tutor

  • Qualified professional Mechanical Engineer with a solid background of teaching and mentoring at school, College, University as well as Industrial level. Provide support, counselling and coaching.

    Raja

    Birmingham

    5 (50 reviews)
    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • Haran - Harrow on the Hill - Early Years Education

    Haran

    Harrow on the Hill

    5 (16 reviews)
    • £35/h
  • Jing - Certified & Experienced 11+ Exam Teacher in Birmingham with High Pass Rate

    Jing

    Birmingham

    5 (13 reviews)
    • £30/h
    • 30mins free
  • Attiya - South Woodford - Early Years Education

    Attiya

    South Woodford

    5 (11 reviews)
    • £35/h
    • 1hr free
  • I'm a experienced scholar. I help you all you school realted problem as well all acadmic issues.contact me freely

    Sana

    5 (11 reviews)
    • £10/h
  • Sue - Cadeby and Carlton - Early Years Education

    Sue

    Market Bosworth

    5 (10 reviews)
    • £30/h
  • UK qualified primary school teacher offering Maths and English tutoring for Year 1 - Year 6 pupils. Personalised, engaging lessons online.

    Callie

    Wrestlingworth

    5 (9 reviews)
    • £35/h
    • 30mins free
  • Julija - Brentford - Early Years Education

    Julia

    London

    5 (8 reviews)
    • £40/h
  • Eva-Jane - Muswell Hill - Early Years Education. Up to date DBS. I work with children up to 13 years teaching confidence, sociability, English, Maths, Verbal and Non-Verbal Reasoning

    Eva-Jane

    Bounds Green

    5 (8 reviews)
    • £40/h
  • Passionate, supportive and fully qualified primary school teacher, ready to help your child in Welsh or English!

    Alyce

    Carmarthen

    5 (5 reviews)
    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Graham - Snettisham - Early Years Education

    Graham

    Snettisham

    5 (5 reviews)
    • £21/h
  • Tutor available for numeracy and literacy help for all ages in greater Belfast area.

    Ruairi

    Belfast

    5 (4 reviews)
    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • Experienced qualified teacher / tutor.With over 20 years international experience, including UK.

    David

    Llansamlet

    5 (4 reviews)
    • £30/h
    • 1hr free
  • GCSE / A - Level tutoring for students currently studying Health and Social Care!

    Elizabeth

    5 (3 reviews)
    • £15/h
    • 30mins free
  • Experienced tutor in Maths, Physics, Biology, Chemistry and Computer Science tutoring at GCSE Level in Sheffield.

    Ruben

    Sheffield

    5 (3 reviews)
    • £15/h
    • 30mins free
  • A first year uni student offering maths and English lessons to children from reception to year 3.

    Deeksha

    Mitcham

    5 (2 reviews)
    • £13/h
    • 30mins free
  • I'm ready to help you with your academic matters, including write-ups majorly social care, healthcare, nursing, psychology et cetera. Get in Touch and let me have it done at an affordable rate.

    ABEL

    London

    5 (2 reviews)
    • £10/h
    • 1hr free
  • With 7 years experience in Special education needs and early years as well as a PhD degree, I am able to support college and university students in education with academic and critical writing

    Adefolawe

    Sunderland

    5 (1 reviews)
    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • Primary School Teacher specialising in ages 3-7, covering all subjects (Hereford, Worcester, London).

    Samantha

    Hereford

    5 (1 reviews)
    • £35/h
    • 1hr free
  • Tutor with Masters degree offering engaging and interactive academic support for ages 5-14 online

    Lauren

    Edinburgh

    5 (1 reviews)
    • £14/h
    • 1hr free
  • See more tutors