Homepage Help
Help Tutoring Jobs
£40/h
Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable
Profile and degree verified
Response Time 24h
Lessons offered by Paula
  • Individual
  • In group
The lessons will be held
  • at her home
  • at your home
  • By webcam
Taught subjects
  • Sports Science
Levels
  • All Levels

Paula - Clapham North - Sports Science

Methodology

Travelling Tutor

I am full time private tutor and increasingly specialise in accompanying families overseas to tutor and entertain their children in an educational capacity.
This option can suit families travelling over holiday periods.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

I tutor in all subjects (including English, Maths and Science) up to 13 years, Maths and Science up to 16 years and Psychology up to degree level.

Other areas include:
• Critical Thinking Skills
• Executive Functioning skills
• Multi-sensory learning/teaching techniques
• Creative Writing
• Verbal Reasoning/ Non Verbal Reasoning
• Essay Writing skills
• Interview technique
• Debating/Public Speaking skills
• Experience with ADHD, severe dyslexia/dyspraxia, neuro-developmental disorders and other disabilities impacting learning capacity

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I studied Psychology at Sussex University attaining a 2.1 and have since worked as both a Private Tutor and an Assistant Child Psychologist. I have subsequently had experience working with children with ADHD, severe dyspraxia, neuro-developmental disorders and other disabilities impacting learning capacity. I have developed multisensory revision techniques whilst working with some of the UK's leading educational psychologists and dyslexia experts, with outstanding results. I also founded a creative writing course for children with SEN and emotional difficulties.

- How much do you charge?

I charge a weekly rate for all residential tuition assignments.

My hourly rate varies depending on age, level and subject.

Please contact me and I will provide a quote.

- Where do you teach?

I increasingly specialise in tutoring the British curriculum to clients who reside in other countries or frequently travel overseas.

In London, I tutor across the capital.

- When are you available?

I am a full time tutor so please contact me to discuss my availability.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

• All subjects to 13 years (including English, Maths and Science)
• Maths, Science, English and Psychology to 16 years
• Psychology to 18 years+
• Preparation for 7+, 8+, 11+, 13+ entrance examinations

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

• School entrance examinations
• Scholarship preparation
• GCSE/ iGCSE/ IB/ A Level preparation
• Preparing students for a new school/curriculum

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I have tutored several students via online tuition, mostly through Skype.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

My favourite teachers at school were those who were passionate about their subjects and their enthusiasm became infectious. They brought their subjects to life by making them real and exciting. I am very creative by nature and like to integrate new and varied learning methods in my teaching through a variety of aids such as wall posters, mind maps, flashcards and suchlike. I adapt all of my teaching resources to each pupil, purchase new materials, create revision schedules and regularly revise targets in tune with the student's objectives. I set challenging yet achievable goals to help my students achieve their potential. I like to think my lessons are fun and inspiring and I always make a point of tailoring my classes to the interests of each student.

Background

- What kind of experience do you have?

I am a 27 year old British born and educated tutor with over 4 years of one to one tutoring experience at a range of levels. I have a proven record of achieving excellent academic results. I have previously homeschooled children, done short term residential (live-in) tuition and have also worked on a weekly basis with individual students preparing them for upcoming exams.

I have successfully enabled children to gain places in several top UK schools including: Wycombe Abbey, Eton, St Edwards, Harrow, Oundle and Godolphin. I have a proven track record of facilitating huge academic improvements, top examination results and overall academic targets being met with no further intervention needed. I have also facilitated successful entry for undergraduate and post-graduate students to some of the world's top universities.

Both in London and overseas, I have tutored a wide range of age groups and subjects from 8 to 18 years. I can offer both remedial tuition (homework assistance, support with schoolwork) as well as supplementary tuition in which I tailor my own curriculum for the student outside of or alongside the school syllabus.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

I hold a current CRB/DBS Certificate

- Tell me about some of your current students.

EXAMPLES OF PREVIOUS STUDENT/PARENT TESTIMONIALS:

“Paula worked with Austin five afternoons a week as a homework tutor. Her patience and support were quite frankly remarkable. She helped Austin with his assignments without ever taking too much control, helping teach good study habits and build his confidence” Caitlin

“Paula is extremely reliable and hardworking. She works independently and was always eager to try and find new ways in which to tackle a problem. Indeed, I found her creative spirit quite infectious, as did Elliot who seemed more willing with her to try new and innovative ways to approach book reports, essays and even class presentations” Michelle


I just wanted to extend my gratitude toward my Psychology tuition as I have received my A Level results and received an A in Psychology which got 100% on unit 4 paper. Thus allowing me to be successful in my first university choice.” Syed

Rates

Rate for online lessons : £40/h
Lessons offered by Paula
Individual
In group
The lessons will be held
at her home
at your home
webcam
Taught subjects
  • Sports Science
Levels
  • All Levels

Paula's CV

• BSc Psychology (2.1)
• Experience with SEN
• CRB/DBS Certificate

Similar tutors

sports science lessons closeby? Here's a selection of tutor listings that you can check out.

Borough
Adrian - Borough - Sports Science
£50
Adrian
  • (6 reviews)

I help children and adults go from anxiety to confidence. For more details, go to my website (concealed information) -...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Imperial Wharf
Vivienne - Imperial Wharf - Gamsat
£50
Vivienne
  • (10 reviews)

I have been teaching secondary for 25 years, tutoring for 22. I am a progressive dyslexia teacher, I encourage the pupil to...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile Responds within an hour
Barnet
Lee - Hampstead Garden Sub - Sports Science
£40
Lee
  • (10 reviews)

I am the creator of the Magic Link Handwriting Programme. This teaches neat, legible joined-up writing in 30 simple...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
South Woodford
Atul - South Woodford - Sports Science
£50
Atul
  • (8 reviews)

Trained and experienced professional full time online tutor delivering an even better teaching experience than face to face....

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Brierley Hill
Jean - Brierley Hill - Sports Science
£30
Jean
  • (6 reviews)

I am a highly qualified and experienced specialist teacher for Dyslexia and other specific learning difficulties. I love to...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Redhill
Janet - Redhill - Sports Science
£40
Janet
  • (10 reviews)

Excellent exam preparation and references. I have countless success stories of students that I tutored. I have the ability...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Brighouse
Richard - Brighouse - Sports Science
£50
Richard
  • (10 reviews)

Hi, my name is Richard, and I am a full time professional online maths tutor. I am a qualified teacher with over 10 years...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Nottingham
Sports Science Masters student offering tutoring in a wide range of sports science topics up to university undergraduate level
£15
Georgia
1st lesson free!

Classes and topics can be based on individual requests from topics such as anatomy and physiology to psychology,...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Cotham
Sandra - North Bristol - 11+ tuition including maths and English scholarships.
£35
Sandra
  • (6 reviews)
1st lesson free!

My aim is to raise attainment, stretch ability, build self-confidence, encourage independence and resilience, promote study...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
at her home at your home By webcam
1 hour £40 £40 £40
Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable