Homepage
Tutoring Jobs
alt_photo

Peter

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate £49
  • Response Time 1h
  • Number of students 3
Book a class

1st lesson free!

1st lesson free!

Peter - Milton Keynes Centre - Maths

Super Prof

Peter is one of our best tutors. They have a high-quality profile, verified qualifications, a quick response time, and great reviews from students!

About the lesson

If you are finding Maths a bit tough and need someone to help you to understand it, or maybe you are wanting to do the best you possibly can in your exams, I would love to help.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

I teach Maths, Mechanics, Decision and Stats at A level, IB and GCSE as well as Further Maths, MAT, STEP and adult Numerical Reasoning.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I have a BSc degree in Mathematics.

I am also a member of the Tutors Association (concealed information) and abide by the Code of Ethics and Code of Professional Practice.

- How much do you charge?

All lessons are £49 per hour. There may be a small additional charge dependent on the amount of travel involved. Contact me for specific details.

- Where do you teach?

I normally teach in my students' homes, though I can tutor at my home if required. I teach in Milton Keynes and surrounding areas, Newport Pagnell, Bletchley etc.

Every year I run fully invigilated mock exams which all of my students are invited to attend. This has been a great success, with 100% of attendees stating that this will improve their chances of doing well in the exams.

- When are you available?

I am available weekdays, any time of the day, all year round!

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I teach from Y11 upwards.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

I believe that by listening to you and understanding your needs, then tailoring each lesson accordingly, I can help you to achieve your potential in Maths. You might even enjoy it a bit more! I love my work and get huge satisfaction from helping people to grow, learn, achieve the grades you need and go on to further success.

subjects

  • Maths
  • Statistics
  • Further Maths
  • +1

    Sixth Term Examination Paper

languages

  • English

levels

  • Secondary
  • AS Level
  • A Level
  • +1

    Adult education

About Peter

- What kind of experience do you have?

I have been a private tutor since 2003, and have loved every minute. Before that, I worked for Shell for 20 years, where I trained professionals in a commercial environment.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

Yes. I'm happy to provide this on request.

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

I was the first private tutor to join "The Tutors Association", a national body which aims to promote best practice in tutoring. As a member I can put the letters MTA after my name woooh!

I am also a qualified ISO9001 Lead Auditor.

- Tell me about some of your current students.

Students I have helped in the past have come from schools such as Royal Latin, Denbigh, Hazeley, Aylesbury Grammar, Bedford High, Oakgrove, St. Pauls, Oundle, Redborne, Shenley, Lord Grey, Sir Henry Floyd, Stantonbury, Webber Independent School, Stowe, MK College, Walton High, Ousedale, Elizabeth Woodville, Oxford Brooke University, Marlborough College and Roedean.

Rates

packages

  • 5h: £245
  • 10h: £490

webcam

  • £49/h

free lessons

  • 1hr

Details

My normal rate for A level and Further Maths is £49 per hour for online. For face-to-face, if you come to me it's also £49. If I come to you then there will be an additional travel fee; please contact me for details.

Find out more about Peter

  • 01

    When did you develop an interest in your chosen field and in private tutoring?

    My love of maths stems from a very early age; I asked my Mum where that comes from but she didn't have a clue! One of my best friends was also good at maths and we each wanted to get the best marks in every homework, so that inspired me greatly. Having done a number of things in the past, from working in industry, to running a boarding kennel and auditing businesses, I can honestly say that tutoring is the most rewarding thing I have ever done. After more than 18 years it still doesn't feel like work, it's more of a passion.

  • 02

    Tell us more about the subject you teach, the topics you like to discuss with students (and possibly those you like a little less).

    When I started tutoring I really didn't like stats too much; I was more interested in pure maths and mechanics at school. However, I didn't want to be a tutor who could only offer those subjects so I spent a lot of time developing my skills and knowledge in Stats, to become as comfortable with that as with the rest of the maths syllabus. I think the experience helps me to empathise with students who have similar likes and dislikes.

  • 03

    Did you have any role models; a teacher that inspired you?

    When I was at Secondary school I was very lucky to have a great teacher who encouraged all of us to be inquisitive and not to give up too easily.

  • 04

    What do you think are the qualities required to be a good tutor?

    To be a good tutor it's important to understand that the (A-level) student is the boss! For whatever reason, the student needs additional support and quite often a new way of approaching the topic to try to break the log-jam of understanding. Patience, flexibility and creativity are also very useful attributes!

  • 05

    Provide a valuable anecdote related to your subject or your days at school.

    I remember coming out of an exam, thinking I had done well with a particularly difficult question. I asked my friend and he too had solved the problem but our answers were different. I soon realised I had made a mistake; we ended up with the same grade but I never discussed the details of an exam again, too stressful!

  • 06

    What were the difficulties or challenges you faced or still facing in your subject?

    The move to online tuition was one I had resisted for years, and was a challenge when I was forced to transfer. However, having made the move I am very pleased with the way it has been going and the fact tha the vast majority of my students say they prefer it.

  • 07

    Do you have a particular passion? Is it teaching in general or an element of the subject or something completely different?

    Apart from my passion for maths and for helping others to understand it, my other enduring passion is badminton. I've been playing it for many years now and I'm lucky to have access to the National Badminton Centre.

  • 08

    What makes you a Superprof (besides answering this interview questions :-P) ?

    I believe I am an effective tutor because I treat each of my students as an adult, listening to their needs and tailoring each lesson to their requirements. I am flexible and patient and have a wealth of experience outside of education which I can mix into my tutoring to deepen the student's understanding. I've also built up a very large resource bank including mock exam papers which are essential practice for the 'real thing'. I have many flattering reviews from past students, which I am very proud of.

Take Maths lessons with a private tutor

See more tutors
  • Rank 124th holder in International Maths Olympiad. Here to help you with arithmetic shortcuts, mathematical concepts and logical deductions in a fun and friendly way.

    Gautam

    Milton Keynes

    5 (7 reviews)
    • £6/h
    • 1hr free
  • • Masters level graduate in Aerospace Engineering and Artificial Intelligence who teaches maths and physics. • Lessons offered online on a 1-to-1 or 1-to-many basis.

    Shreevanth

    Conniburrow

    5 (3 reviews)
    • £15/h
    • 30mins free
  • Secondary school Maths Teacher with a Bachelors Degree in Education and Teaching (QTS).

    Adrián

    Loughton

    5 (3 reviews)
    • £30/h
    • 1hr free
  • Online GCSE Maths, Biology and Chemistry taught by an A level student (remote learning)

    Jasmeen

    Milton Keynes

    5 (2 reviews)
    • £12/h
    • 1hr free
  • I finished GCSEs this year and am predicted grade 7-9s in all subjects, including Further Maths, and am located in Milton Keynes.

    Jessica

    Two Mile Ash

    • £8/h
    • 1hr free
  • I am passionate and good in helping others to succeed in their studies

    Boitumelo

    Bradville

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • Masters in Organic Chemistry qualified tutor offers Chemistry lessons in Milton Keynes

    Inderpal K

    Bradwell Common

    • £10/h
    • 1hr free
  • Final year Alevel student in milton keynes offering maths chemistry biology lessons

    Parth

    Hodge Lea

    • £20/h
    • 1hr free
  • Year 13 student teaching Maths and Sciences for GCSEs and A-Level students in Milton Keynes

    Luqman

    Haversham

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • Hello, I'm a biomedical science student offering Maths lessons up to GCSE level.

    Gbola

    Fullers Slade

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • I am a year 10 set 1 maths student predicting a level 8 in maths and I am looking to help young ones. I can help them with there homework and help them with things they are learning In class. I am loc

    Paigan

    New Bradwell

    • £9/h
    • 1hr free
  • Maths and Economics student willing to teach maths/ further maths in Milton Keynes

    Ameya

    Great Holm

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • Maths PhD candidate teaching maths at all levels in Milton Keynes. Lessons online or face-to-face.

    Gustavo

    Milton Keynes

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • Engineering student related with electricals, mathematics and science lessons in Milton Keynes

    Nandini basavarajappa

    Milton Keynes

    • £10/h
    • 1hr free
  • Final year Biomedical Sciences student teaches GCSE Maths and Biology in Milton Keynes

    Pruthushaan

    Milton Keynes

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • University graduate who is also a primary school teacher.  I am available to teach Maths from primary level up until a level 4/5 at GCSE around Milton

    Jodie

    Milton Keynes

    • £10/h
    • 1hr free
  • Hello. I am a second-year student studying Economics BSc! I am able to tutor all primary school children in any subject and can guarantee that they will achieve a high grade.

    Pavi

    Milton Keynes

    • £7/h
    • 1hr free
  • Maths tutoring by a master's student in Nottingham with a volunteering experience in InTo university organization

    Swetcha Parimala

    Great Holm

    • £15/h
    • 1hr free
  • Engineering student studying mathematics and mechanical engineering in Milton Keynes college Chaffron way

    Goodness

    Fishermead

    • £7/h
    • 1hr free
  • I am student currently at a sixth form. Apart from being a student, I am a mathematics lover. And I am your best option if only you allow me.

    Mercy

    Fishermead

    • £10/h
    • 1hr free
  • See more tutors