Homepage Help
Help Tutoring Jobs
York 
York 
  • (10 reviews)
M
Mohammed
« We want you to teach us again! »
£20/h
Profile and degree verified
Response Time 6h
Lessons offered by Richard
  • Individual
  • In group
The lessons will be held
  • at his home
  • at your home
  • By webcam
Taught subjects
  • German
Levels
  • All Levels

Richard - Acomb - German

Methodology

Want to brush up your skills or start from scratch? Whatever level or duration, I am the tutor for you! My aim is to help you to help yourself - with lots of enthusiasm, encouragement, fun & laughter.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

I teach English as a Foreign Language (TEFL) and English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL). I also teach French at all levels and German at beginner or elementary level for business or pleasure. I help adults to improve their literacy and numeracy skills, and Acoustic Phonetics for language-learning. I facilitate "Learning that LASTS" - a week-long course on how to help teachers make their programmes more learner-centred - based on the work of Jane Vella. I also facilitate parenting courses.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

Apart from "O" and "A" levels, I have an upper second class honours degree in French and German, a PGCE, a TESOL qualification from Bradford College and a CELTA (Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults) in 2011, an RSA qualification in Literacy and Numeracy tuition and certificates in linguistics. I also have a DBS Enhanced Disclosure certificate dated June 2018.

- How much do you charge?

I HAVE REDUCED MY HOURLY RATE TO £25, and if you have some friends who want to come along, just add them at only £5 extra per person (maximum charge: £50 per hour). Also, the first introductory lesson is FREE!

- Where do you teach?

I teach in Acomb and in York for the basic fee, but I am willing to travel to other areas of York and the surrounding area. If I come to you, I will need to charge extra for petrol and time, but this is negotiable.

- When are you available?

At the moment I am available weekdays any time, and Saturday mornings. I am also available some evenings by negotiation.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I teach any age.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

I can prepare students for the FCE, CAE and IELTS exams. I do not offer GCSE French or German.

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I am willing to do proofreading and dissertation checking by email and to give some additional tutoring guidance by phone and email, to supplement face-to-face lessons.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

Don't be afraid to make mistakes - remember the saying "Those who never made a mistake never made anything!" Persevere, don't take yourself too seriously, and enjoy the language-learning process.

Background

- What kind of experience do you have?

I have taught EFL part-time to individuals and groups at different levels for a number of years, including at the English Language Centre in York. I have taught French and German to individuals and to evening classes, also in York - including to some employees of Nestle. I have devised and taught my own ten-hour course in French for post-beginners. This was well received at the Best Western hotel group. In High Wycombe I have taught Phonetics, TESOL and "Learning that LASTS" for the European Training Programme.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

I have an enhanced DBS certificate dated June 2018. This will be automatically updated each year.

- Where and with whom did you train?

I trained for my degree at Huddersfield University, for my PGCE at the University of York and for my CELTA at the English Language Centre, York.

- Tell me about some of your current students.

For the last three years I have been tutoring two Swiss-French children. I have seen them progress in English from almost beginner level to almost advanced! I have also been teaching a number of refugees from a variety of different countries. They have all begun with very little English, and every one has made progress. The current one has been making very rapid progress - probably the most gifted student I have ever had and a joy to teach. The other current student is learning German, as he needs to communicate with work colleagues. In addition I am doing some work for "English in York".

Rates

Rate for online lessons : £20/h
Lessons offered by Richard
Individual
In group
The lessons will be held
at his home
at your home
webcam
Taught subjects
  • German
Levels
  • All Levels

Richard's CV

• BA (Hons) 2:1 in Humanities (French and German)
• PGCE (French and German); CELTA (Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults) 2011; RSA certificate in Special Needs (Literacy & Numeracy)
• Enhanced DBS Certificate June 2018

10 reviews on Richard
  • 5/5

All our ratings are collected by us and are given in confidence, they correspond to a real experience.

10 recommendations

M
Mohammed

We want you to teach us again!

S
Sharifah (Saudi Arabia)

You have a good style of teaching. We can always pay attention with you.

A
Aarian

You help us to learn; you explain well.

Similar tutors

german lessons closeby? Here's a selection of tutor listings that you can check out.

Fulford
German Native speaker and English/ German student offers German lessons in York
£17
Tess
1st lesson free!

Learning a new language can be overwhelming. I like to focus on specific topics for each session, but also to include a lot...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Newton Abbot
Sönke - learn with a native German Tutor - all ages and all abilities -face-to-face in Devon, UK, as well as worldwide online tutoring
£30
Sönke
  • (3 reviews)
1st lesson free!

I cannot guarantee that you will reach native speaker-like proficiency, but I know that you will enjoy learning German,...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Exeter
Chris - Exeter -German German tutor in the Exeter area for all levels
£39
Chris
  • (19 reviews)
1st lesson free!

It has been my pleasure to help numerous people achieve their potential in learning French and German. Don't just take my...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Oakham
Friendly Patient Kind Dynamic ESOL German French Spanish Trainer Tutor Oakham Leicestershire
£30
Stephen
  • (8 reviews)
1st lesson free!

Hello to everybody interested in learning and/or improving their English and Modern Foreign Language abilities! I have...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Buckie
Professional and Experienced German, TESOL and French Tutor in Buckie, North-East Scotland
£20
Claudia
  • (8 reviews)

Professional and experienced tutor for TESOL (bilingual, TESOL certificate ) and German (native speaker) provides...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
London
Zinajda - Wandsworth Common - German
£23
Zinajda
  • (3 reviews)

Which subjects do you teach? I teach flute (piccolo, alto and bass flute as well) up to professional level. Repertoire:...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Werrington
Fiona - Werrington - German
£30
Fiona
  • (10 reviews)

I help people of all ages and abilities learn Spanish, English and other languages for exams, holidays or business. Learning...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Cardiff
German lessons taught by native speaker in Cardiff
£30
Helen
  • (4 reviews)

I am a friendly German language tutor in Cardiff offering tuition via skype for adult and face-to-face tuition to pupils...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Ayr
German native speaker with over 7 years of experience in private tuition offers German, French and English lessons in Ayr and beyond
£20
Lisa
  • (8 reviews)
1st lesson free!

My top priority is to help my students to succeed and meet their full potential. A relaxed and supportive learning...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Beckenham
Recent UCL Master's graduate offering German and Politics tutoring all over London
£25
Taylor
  • (2 reviews)
1st lesson free!

I am a twenty-three year old from London, who has tutored at undergraduate and A-Level abilities. I approach tutoring in a...

Face to face lessons Approved profile
Worthing
Qualified teacher gives individually tailored German and Swiss German lessons in Worthing
£20
Silvia
1st lesson free!

Am using the communicative approach, tailoring very individual lessons in context with the student's surroundings, work,...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile Responds within an hour
Bradford
German teacher wants to share his passion with you: having interesting conversations, and improving your language skills.
£16
Tobias
1st lesson free!

What my lessons will look like does highly depend on your expectations and aims. I have a lot of material for practice in...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
at his home at your home By webcam
1 hour £20 £20 £20
Book a class