Homepage Help
Help Tutoring Jobs
£20/h
Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable
Tutor profile verified
Response Time 24h
Lessons offered by Sara
  • Individual
  • In group
The lessons will be held
  • at her home
  • at your home
  • By webcam
Taught subjects
  • Maths
  • School science
Levels
  • All Levels

Sara - Paddox - Maths

Methodology

I aim to break down barriers to children's learning and release their potential. I communicate well with parents and listen to concerns they may have. I put the child in the centre at all times to ensure higher confidence and improved self-esteem.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

Literacy (reading, writing, speaking and listening, handwriting, spelling)
Maths (up to year 4)
All areas of SEN covered.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I have a degree in Sociology, a PGCE in Primary education as well as post graduate certificates in education specialising in Special Educational Needs and Behaviour Management. I am a trained Assertive Discipline trainer, I have carried out additional training in Autistic Spectrum Disorders, writing interventions, early years and management.

- How much do you charge?

Charges start at £20 per hour and are dependent on the needs of the child and the area that requires my input.

- Where do you teach?

I prefer to tutor in my own home (I live near Rugby) but I'm also happy to discuss tutoring elsewhere including in the pupil's school.

- When are you available?

During the school day and during weekends my hours are more flexible however with notice I can tutor after school hours.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I can work with children from pre-school up to Secondary age depending on the needs of the child.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

My teaching is based on baseline assessments which I would carry out and targets which I would set as a result. I do not work towards formal qualifications however the by-product of my input is better progress in school and therefore higher levels achieved at important points in their education.

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I am more than happy to tutor via email and Skype.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

I look forward to meeting you and helping you to see just how brilliant you are!

Background

- What kind of experience do you have?

I spent 8 years teaching in a large 3 form entry Primary school where I gained experience in years Reception to 4. I led the Reception team including through an Ofsted inspection. I led Year 2 and held co-ordination posts ranging from Art to behaviour management and Gifted and Talented. I have taught in a specialist school for children with moderate learning difficulties which included Autism, dyslexia, social, emotional and behavioural difficulties and Global Developmental Delay. I worked for a local authority as an Advisory Specialist Teacher specialising in learning and behaviour needs. I have been an independent consultant specialist teacher for 2 years which has involved me assessing children and advising on SEN processes. I have also appeared at a number of SENDIST tribunal hearings as an expert witness. I liaise with advocates and other professionals including SEN lawyers.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

I hold a basic DRB disclosure as I applied when self-employed and it was the most detailed disclosure I could get. I was CRB checked in all previous roles.

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

I belong to the General Teaching Council and I hold full teaching and consultancy insurance.

- Tell me about some of your current students.

I have worked with a range of students over the past two years, all of whom have benefitted from my input and have made excellent progress at school and outside.

Rates

Rate for online lessons : £20/h
Lessons offered by Sara
Individual
In group
The lessons will be held
at her home
at your home
webcam
Taught subjects
  • Maths
  • School science
Levels
  • All Levels

Similar tutors

maths lessons closeby? Here's a selection of tutor listings that you can check out.
Superprof can also suggest school science lessons to help you.

Rugby
GCSE, KS3 and primary Maths tutoring by Neuroscience BSc graduate in Rugby
£18
Anatolia
1st lesson free!

The first free lesson will be used to assess the tutees current level and which areas they need more help on to develop...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
West Haddon
Mechanical Engineering student hoping tutor young people in Coventry in GCSE/A-Level Maths
£12
Matthew
1st lesson free!

I believe the best way to learn anything is through practise, but sometimes when you get stuck you need someone there to...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Coventry
Maths tutoring by a working Engineering professional with Masters in Engineering :Upto A levels, Coventry
£20
Satish
1st lesson free!

I am a working Engineering professional with a masters degree in Engineering from one of the worlds reputed educational...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Burbage
A Maths and Physics tutor with a difference. I have a Ph.D in Nuclear Physics, 20 years experience and believe mindset and subject knowledge are both important.
£25
Catherine
  • (1 review)
1st lesson free!

My methods are simply. I take each student as an individual, identify their strengths and weaknesses and work with them to...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Leamington Spa
Pharmacology Graduate offering science and maths tuition (A level/GCSE) in Leamington Spa/London
£25
Laura
1st lesson free!

I have graduated University College London reading Pharmacology (2:1 honours degree). For A level I achieved A*, A* and A...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Wembley Park
Rob - Wembley Park - Maths
£30
Rob
  • (1 review)
1st lesson free!

On a mission to bring the very best online tuition experience to individuals willing to work hard ! Call me on :...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Maidenhead
Waqar - Maidenhead - Maths
£50
Waqar
  • (2 reviews)

Public Health Doctor | Oxbridge Graduate | Over 10 years teaching experience | Specialist marker for Edexcel - Which...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Heavitree
Rebecca - Heavitree - Maths
£40
Rebecca
  • (3 reviews)

I work with young people from all over Devon, helping them achieve their goals whether that be a C at GCSE maths or entry to...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
at her home at your home By webcam
1 hour £20 £20 £20
Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable