Sarah - Prof maths - Bridport

Sarah

Tutor profile verified

  • Hourly rate £15
  • Response Time 24h
See Maths tutors

Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable

Sarah - Bridport - Maths

About the lesson

I have lots of experience working with students of all ages. I am a qualified paediatric occupational therapist and lecturer and have worked in nursery schools, special schools and universities.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

I am a sociologist by profession but my main subject for tutoring is English at all levels, social sciences and basic maths.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I have a Diploma in Occupational Therapy (specialising in paediatrics), a BA (Hons) in Health Sciences, MA in Sociological Research in Health Care and a doctorate (PhD) in Sociology from Warwick University. I am currently an Honorary Research Fellow and Covenor of the Research and Policy Centre for the Study of Wellbeing in Communities at the University of Winchester, in Hampshire.

- How much do you charge?

Charges vary between £15 to £45 per hour, depending on the age of the individual being tutored (whether a young child, older child or teenager, or adult) and the specific demands of the subject. Prices (effective from June 2011) include lesson planning, resources and individual pupil tracking. I can offer up to a 20% discount for a block-booking of five weeks or more.

- Where do you teach?

I teach from home. I live near Broadwindsor in West Dorset, approximately 6 miles north of Bridport and about 4 miles from Beaminster. I may be able to travel to students' homes if necessary. Please contact me to discuss.

- When are you available?

I am available for tutoring pre-school or home-educated children, or working with adults, during the day or evening. Please phone to discuss.
For sessions with children attending school or college, I am available between 4pm and 7pm during weekdays, and 9am to 12noon on Saturdays.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I am available to teach children of all ages and abilities, including children with special educational needs or gifted and talented children. I am also available to work with adults.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

I can prepare students for their 11+ exams, GCSEs, A levels, University entrance and degree-level study.

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I am available to tutor online, working with students by email and supported by telephone (land-line only) as required.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

Every student is different and has a unique set of needs and wishes. Please phone to discuss your situation so that together we can explore what help you require and how I may be able to support your learning.

subjects

  • Maths

languages

  • English

levels

  • Primary
  • Secondary
  • GCSE
  • +8

    AS Level

    A Level

    BTEC

    Adult education

    Undergraduate

    Masters

    Diploma

    Doctorate

About Sarah

- What kind of experience do you have?

I have taught at universities, including the Open University, and from 2001 to 2009 I was a Senior Lecturer at the University of Winchester, where I am still an Honorary Research Fellow. I have taught sociology, health and social care and community development at degree level, and I also spent a lot of time with first-year students working on their study skills, including essay-writing, time-management, and adjusting to the style of university education. I have worked with many adults returning to learning as well as with teenagers. I have home-educated my own daughter at primary-school level, and I have a son currently studying at Cambridge University.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

Yes. I have an Enhanced CRB Disclosure certificate.

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

I am a long-term member of UCU and the British Sociological Association.

Rates

packages

  • 5h: £75
  • 10h: £150

webcam

  • £15/h

Take Maths lessons with a private tutor

  • Inspiring and enthusiastic Maths and Physics tutor with 9 years of experience - Free Consultation

    Intasar

    London

    4.9 (36 reviews)
    • £48/h
  • Imperial College Physics PhD, Top 1% of IB Globally for physics score.

    Ayush

    London

    5 (35 reviews)
    • £120/h
    • 1hr free
  • A Certified MATH Tutor with over 10 yrs of EXPERIENCE / Expert in SATs, GCSE and KS3/ Algebra / Trigonometry / Geometry / Calculus / Advanced Calculus

    Sehaj

    London

    4.9 (31 reviews)
    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Experienced online tutor for all levels maths, physics, statistics, SPSS, R, Stata, Jamovi, data analysis

    Paolo

    London

    4.9 (29 reviews)
    • £30/h
    • 30mins free
  • Fully Qualified London based Maths Teacher with 25+ years tutoring experience (PGCE, MSc Education, QTS, Enhanced DBS)

    Farooq

    London

    5 (20 reviews)
    • £40/h
    • 1hr free
  • PhD Trained and Experienced Statistics, Mathematics, Econometrics, Research Methods, Data Analysis/Science (+coding) tutor

    Andrea

    London

    5 (18 reviews)
    • £70/h
  • Are your grades making you worried? Then wait no more and Come in for an adventure where you will be in a curiosity voyage of learning . Experienced A-Levels and GCSE Maths, Physics and chemistry tuto

    Muhammad

    Manchester

    5 (18 reviews)
    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Certified Mathematics Tutor for AS & A Levels,  GCSE, IGCSE, Secondary and Primary,  IB (HL & SL), with 4 Years of Experience

    Akash

    London

    5 (17 reviews)
    • £8/h
    • 30mins free
  • Engaging, professional and qualified Teacher with 18 years experience, offering Maths tutoring, up to GCSE level, online or in the North West.

    Matthew

    Heysham

    5 (17 reviews)
    • £30/h
    • 30mins free
  • Recently graduated maths student with a year of teaching, and over 250 hours of online tutoring, experience offering maths lessons for all ages and standards in Manchester

    Jamie

    Salford

    5 (16 reviews)
    • £25/h
    • 1hr free
  • Learn any topic in maths  from a professional maths tutor. Key Stage 2,  7+, 11+, SATs, Key Stage 3, 4, GCSE, Grammar school (Entrance Exam) , Functional maths and many more.

    Harinder

    Edinburgh

    5 (16 reviews)
    • £15/h
    • 30mins free
  • Experienced engineering student offers help in preparation for Highers and A-levels exams in Physics and Mathematics. I am happy to help everyone up to the 2nd-year university level.

    Gennady

    5 (15 reviews)
    • £20/h
  • Qualified teacher with over twenty years experience as a teacher and tutor

    Daniella

    Park Gate

    5 (13 reviews)
    • £45/h
    • 30mins free
  • Experienced science tutor offering online tutoring in Physics, Math and Chemistry subjects

    Petar

    London

    4.9 (12 reviews)
    • £40/h
  • Engaging, supportive and professional online Maths teacher - 30 years experience, MSc Mathematics Education (Bristol), PGCE, BA Hons.

    Peter

    Newbury

    5 (11 reviews)
    • £45/h
  • Friendly, kind and enthusiastic professional online Maths tutor with 10 years' experience

    Gillian

    Wythall

    5 (10 reviews)
    • £45/h
    • 1hr free
  • A Ph.D. graduate from Imperial College London, who have tutored in Math, Physics, and Computing for more than 9 years.

    Dr.Kritaphat

    London

    4.9 (7 reviews)
    • £49/h
    • 30mins free
  • Statistics and probability: build a solid data analysis foundation and ace your test!

    Gian Lorenzo

    Bath

    4.9 (7 reviews)
    • £59/h
    • 1hr free
  • Emotionally intelligent Maths tutor with First Class Maths Degree and two PhDs. Excellent communication with all ages.

    Doctor-Alexis

    London

    5 (6 reviews)
    • £32/h
  • Cambridge Natural Sciences student offering tutoring in Chemistry and Maths up to A Level standard

    Leah

    Axminster

    5 (3 reviews)
    • £22/h
    • 1hr free
  • See more tutors