Homepage
Tutoring Jobs
Meriden 
£30/h
Profile and degree verified
Response Time 24h
Lessons offered by Stuart
  • Individual
The lessons will be held
  • at his home
  • at your home
Taught subjects
  • Traditional Chinese Music
Levels
  • All Levels

Stuart - Meriden - Traditional Chinese Music

Methodology

I am an experienced local university lecturer (English) and part-time tutor, offering tutoring in English at GCSE and A level in the evenings and at weekends.

I have tutored a large number of students in the Warwickshire area, offering tutoring support in English Language and Literature.
One of my specialisms is Creative Writing, and I am a published author, contributing regular articles to magazines and newspapers.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

First and foremost, I tutor in English. I am familiar with the key exam boards - AQA, Edexcel and OCR.
I specialise in both English Language and Literature, and can offer support in creative writing, as well as analysis of poetry and media texts, as well as the core GCSE components of writing to describe, persuade, advise, and instruct.
I am familar with AS and A2 courses in Language Analysis.
I have had wide experience of the Literature syllabus at GCSE and A levels.
From time to time, I also offer tuition in Mathematics (to GCSE level). Again, I am familiar with Modular themes used by AQA, Edexcel and OCR, as well as Calculator, Non-Calculator and Foundation and Higher examinations.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I have a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) degree in English Studies from Stirling University.
I have a Diploma of Education (Honours) degree, also from Stirling University.

- How much do you charge?

Normally I charge £25 per hour. I live in Allesley, Coventry, so do not normally charge for travel, within the West Midlands and Solihull areas.

- Where do you teach?

I teach at Warwick University, so can travel (within reason) locally to Coventry and other towns within the West Midlands and Warwickshire areas.
I have tutored in the following locations: Coventry; Nuneaton; Kenilworth; Warwick; Solihull; Shirley; Leamington; Coleshill; and the South Birmingham areas.
I usually travel to students' homes.

- When are you available?

I tutor in the evenings and at weekends.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I tutor students from 11 up to 18.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

I prepare my students for GCSE exams in English Language and Literature; AS and A2; and A level.
I have also tutored students for the 11-plus and 13-plus exams.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

I have an enthusiastic, engaging style.

Experience

- What kind of experience do you have?

I have tutored more than 100 students over the last 6 years, including a large number of secondary students studying English to GCSE and GCE levels.
Additionally, I have been part of Warwickshire County Council's innovative 'Virtual School' pilot initiative, which offers children in care additional tuition in core subjects to boost their performance in schools. I have also undertaken some work with Birmingham City Council on a similar project.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

I have a current enhanced CRB (validated by Warwickshire County Council).

- Where and with whom did you train?

In addition to my university career, I have attended several one-to-one tutoring courses organised by Teaching Personnel.

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

GTCE.

- Tell me about some of your current students.

I tutor a wide range of students, several of whom gained A stars in GCSE English and A's in A level English in the 2010 examinations.

Rates

Rate for a 1-hour lesson. : £30/h
Lessons offered by Stuart
Individual
The lessons will be held
at his home
at your home
Taught subjects
  • Traditional Chinese Music
Levels
  • All Levels

Stuart's CV

• BA (Honours) English, Stirling University
• Diploma of Education (Honours), Stirling University
• Current Enhanced CRB (validated Warwickshire County Council)

Similar tutors

traditional chinese music lessons closeby? Here's a selection of tutor listings that you can check out.

Imperial Wharf
Vivienne - Imperial Wharf - Traditional Chinese Music
£50
Vivienne
  • (10 reviews)

I have been teaching secondary for 25 years, tutoring for 22. I am a progressive dyslexia teacher, I encourage the pupil to...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Goodmayes
Kanesalingam - Goodmayes - Traditional Chinese Music
£30
Kanesalingam
  • (2 reviews)

To all my students that I have started the September classes for A/L Chemistry - Which subject(s) do you teach? I teach...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Christchurch, New Zealand
I have been a private tutor in Hong Kong for one year
£31
Yinyan
1st lesson free!

I would prefer teaching in a gentle and relaxing way because I love being friendly to my student so they won't be hated to...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Cheng, Malaysia
Music is the soundtrack of your life and emotional life of most people.
£9
Soh
1st lesson free!

The class will be conducting in mandarin only. Students with intermediate level and above are required to own a Guzheng...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
at his home at your home By webcam
1 hour £30 £30 Not available
Book a class