Tutoring Jobs
Coulsdon North 
Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable
Profile and degree verified
Response Time 24h
Lessons offered by Vicky
  • Individual
  • In group
The lessons will be held
  • at her home
  • at your home
  • By webcam
Taught subjects
  • French
  • All Levels

Vicky - South Beddington - French


Tutoring is a wonderful job as I work with children and adults of all abilities and it is a pleasure to see progress.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

I teach spelling, reading and handwriting as well as writing skills.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I have a certificate in SpLd, which means that I am qualified to teach children one-to-one who have difficulties with words and numbers. I attended the Helen Arkell Dyslexia Centre and was assessed on my practical skills in 1:1 teaching, as well as my effective rapport with the children I taught. This enables me to call myself a Specialist Teacher and to test children for reading, spelling and memory, as well as understand an Educational Psychologist's report. I also have the certificate and diploma in TESOL, which I passed over 16 and 8 years ago respectively. This qualifies me to teach English to foreign language speakers and I am ideally suited to teaching adults and children who have English as a second language.

- How much do you charge?

I am always happy to meet students and parents for a free initial consultation. I charge between £25 one-to-one and £15 in a group of up to five students. I will charge £20 per hour if the time is during the day and is for IELTS.

- Where do you teach?

I always teach at home in my front room. Parking is easy as there is always a space in front of my house and I live in a cul de sac.

- When are you available?

I teach during the day for home-schooled children, online teaching and in-office work. During the school holidays I am available for more hours during the day. Tutoring for school children is from 3.30 pm on weekdays and on Saturday mornings.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I teach from ages seven to adult. I am particularly experienced in key stages 2 and 3 in English and at all levels for English as an Additional Language.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

Grammar school and independent school entrance exams, French 13+ and GCSE, First Certificate, KET and PET exams, as well as IELTS.

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I have tutored English online for the London English Academy ((concealed information) which is an agency that connects South Korean students with English teachers. I have broadband, a headset, as well as a camera and work during the day, not after school.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

Studying with a tutor is completely different to studying at school. You can ask any questions you want and there is time for the tutor to give you the answer in detail, without any other disruptions. Spelling and reading can be improved through the use of interactive games, computer software, interesting stories and spelling strategies not often used in schools; quantifiable improvements can be seen by parents once assessment tests have been made. Parents can work with the tutor and homework can be given to reinforce work done in class.


- What kind of experience do you have?

I have taught as a Specialist Teacher for two years at an independent school in Sutton. I was teaching children aged 11 - 17 with a Statement of Educational Need; this included spelling, reading skills and GCSE English preparation. In addition, I was the English as an Additional Language teacher for 7 years, teaching Korean students aged 8 - 17 years old. I taught for the IGCSE in English, as well as general grammar, vocabulary and writing skills outside school hours to students from the Selah Music School, from South Korea, who were living in Epsom from 2007 - 2009. I have also taught and run summer schools for over 16 years. For over three years, I was an English teacher at a language school for adults, teaching for the Key English Test, the Preliminary English Test and the First Certificate. I have taught in office to a Croation CEO of an international utilities company, as well as the CEO of a French bank. This was interesting work as it involved teaching spoken English in real-life situations.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

Yes, it is valid until November 2013.

- Where and with whom did you train?

I trained at Sutton College of Liberal Arts for my certificate and with St. James School of English, London for my Diploma in Teaching English as a Foreign Language. I trained at the Helen Arkell Dyslexia Centre in Frensham, Surrey for the certificate in Specific Learning Difficulties. I hold an HND in Hotel, Catering and Institutional Management from Bournemouth University.

- Tell me about some of your current students.

Two adult students who have dyslexia, groups of year 3,4,5,6 and 9 students in small groups and a small number of children and adults who have dyslexia or are studying individually towards school entrance exams.


Rate for online lessons : £25/h
Lessons offered by Vicky
In group
The lessons will be held
at her home
at your home
Taught subjects
  • French
  • All Levels

Vicky's CV

• Certificate in Specific Learning Difficulties (2009) Helen Arkell Dyslexia Centre
• Certificate and Diploma in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
• CRB checked. Certificate available for inspection.

Similar tutors

french lessons closeby? Here's a selection of tutor listings that you can check out.

Experienced Native French teacher | Tuition in Croydon, Purley, Wallington and surrounding areas
  • (10 reviews)
1st lesson free!

Bonjour, I am a French native tutor, living in the UK since 2000. I currently teach French to a variety of students who are...

Face to face lessons Approved profile
French Native tutor to teach French the Native way,flexible times,£10/HR ???????? (LONDON)
  • (1 review)
1st lesson free!

I am a French Native linguist and a university student in Interpreting and Translation. I have experienced the bi-lingual...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile Responds within an hour
French classes with native teacher, graduated in English (language, literature and civilisation)
1st lesson free!

I adapt myself to the expectations of children and parents, and also depending on what they are doing in class

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Experienced French native teacher with QTS offers private tuition in Ewell, Surrey.
1st lesson free!

I adapt each and every lesson to the students needs and their personal goals. I worked in translation and international...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
La haine tue toujours, l'amour ne meurt jamais. vis comme si tu devais mourire demain. Apprend comme si tu devais vivre pour toujour.
1st lesson free!

I am a degree educated in accountancy from Belgium and also have some background in teaching, i am passionate of history and...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
at her home at your home By webcam
1 hour £25 £25 £25
Unfortunately, this tutor is unavailable