Homepage Help
Help Tutoring Jobs
£20/h
Profile and degree verified
Response Time 24h
Lessons offered by Vivienne
  • Individual
  • In group
The lessons will be held
  • at her home
  • at your home
  • By webcam
Taught subjects
  • School English
  • Test prep
  • 11+ School Exam Preparation
  • Dissertation and thesis’s writing preparation
  • 13 Plus
Levels
  • All Levels

Vivienne - Imperial Wharf - School English

Methodology

I have been teaching secondary for 25 years, tutoring for 22. I am a progressive dyslexia teacher, I encourage the pupil to gain better marks by setting a challenge to their ability, then taking them through it so that they become more confident.

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

Elocution, English, Reading Recovery, Rapid Writing Skills, Maths, Science, Geography, Psychology, PE and History A Level, GCSE and Key stage 3. I can also accommodate special needs children including dyslexic, and regularly teach these students. I can also teach younger children and adults. I also run resident EFL courses in the summer holidays.

Please be aware that my one to one rate is currently £65 per hour.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

I trained as a medical doctor in London having already gained degrees in Biology and History (Honours). Then going on to train as a teacher of adults as well as children. Recently I have taken a masters in Psychology leading to the Rapid recovery system teaching for Reading and writing. This teaches non readers and writers to develop their reading and writing to a high standard within 12 weeks on a course held at Westminster, Harley St in London and Dorking in Surrey. I also run rapid recovery classes for Math and spellings.

- How much do you charge?

I charge £65 per hour for my online tuition. I charge a little more for coming to you.

- Where do you teach?

I can teach in my office at my home in Dorking Surrey, or in Harley Street, or I can come to the students home for tuition. There is an extra cost for this and the time for travel must also be taken into account.

- When are you available?

I am available most days but I do get very booked from September to July so please enquire.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I teach all ages and levels but tend to take children from 11+ exams through to A levels. I also teach medical and dental students. Please enquire.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

Degrees, A levels, GCSE's, Sats and Common Entrance Exams. EFL exams. Also interview preparation.

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I have regular contact with children and adults all over the United Kingdom by internet in order to enhance their academic qualifications. I use a software specifically for this use with a whiteboard, media player and separate class rooms for group work of internet students. I can use skype for this or can download any other form of internet communication used by the student however I find these a less effective or clear form of communication.

- Do you have a personal message for students?

I have seen many students who thought that they would never achieve their academic goals go on to gain good marks at university. Sometimes a little one to one tuition is all that is required to enhance their skills to a stage that allows them to feel more confident in their abilities. I make the tuition suit the students individual needs, methodically in a way that is easiest for the student. This allows the student to feel more confident, focused and motivated.

Background

- What kind of experience do you have?

I currently have 26 years experience in the teaching of children with 24 years experience with Autistic and Dyslexic children. I have 24 years experience in the private tuition field and have run my company Top Marks Tuition Ltd for the last 10 years. I have over 100 testimonials ready to be viewed.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

I can supply a current up to date DBS.

- Where and with whom did you train?

I trained in "Psychology of Education and for my PGCE with the UCL Institute of Education in Bloomsbury, London (part of UCL, University of London), Barts and the London Medical school (University of London) and Kingston University (University of London).

- Do you belong to any professional organisations?

My company is Top Marks Tuition Ltd ((concealed information) I am a Harley Street consultant and I belong to the Association of Professional Tutors. I am a graduate teacher from UCL which is currently ranked No. 1 for education in the world.

- Tell me about some of your current students.

Due to the nature of my business teaching children I would rather talk to individual clients about former students needs and requirements whilst keeping data protection issues in mind. I can say that most of my students currently range from 5 years old to 30 years old. Some have special needs and others are university students so the spectrum is very wide. Some have ongoing behavioural issues and others are high flyers academically. I also have clients with medical and emotional needs that are not addressed within their learning environment.

Rates

Rate for online lessons : £20/h
Lessons offered by Vivienne
Individual
In group
The lessons will be held
at her home
at your home
webcam
Taught subjects
  • School English
  • Test prep
  • 11+ School Exam Preparation
  • Dissertation and thesis’s writing preparation
  • 13 Plus
Levels
  • All Levels

Rates

Rate for online lessons : £20/h

Vivienne's CV

• Studied as Doctor of Medicine, Biology, History and Educational Psychology trained
• PGCE Trained with 20 years experience
• Valid DBS and references available
• Director and Head Tutor of Top Marks Tuition Ltd & Harley Street Consultant

Similar tutors

school english lessons closeby? Here's a selection of tutor listings that you can check out.
Superprof can also suggest test prep lessons to help you.
Learning isn't a problem, 11+ school exam preparation lessons for all!
Taking dissertation and thesis’s writing preparation lessons has never been easier: you're going to learn new skills.

London
Wonderful English tuition - specialising in English language and literature in london
£25
Zhane
1st lesson free!
Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Wandsworth Town
Julia Jane - Wandsworth Town - Dissertation and thesis’s writing preparation
£20
Julia Jane
Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Ravenscourt Park
Mary-Jannet - Ravenscourt Park - Dissertation and thesis’s writing preparation
£20
Mary-Jannet
Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Gloucester Road
Clemmie - Gloucester Road - School English
£20
Clemmie
Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
at her home at your home By webcam
1 hour £20 £20 £20
Reserve a lesson