Homepage Help
Help Tutoring Jobs
£29/h
Tutor profile verified
Response Time 24h
Lessons offered by Tamara
  • Individual
  • In group
The lessons will be held
  • at her home
  • at your home
  • By webcam
Taught subjects
  • History
Levels
  • All Levels

Tamara - Orpington - History

Methodology

I'm very interested in English, Latin, History, Maths and Statistics and I love communicating my knowledge to you!

- Which subject(s) do you teach?

I teach English, Latin and Statistics at all levels, and History and Maths up to GCSE.

- Tell me about your qualifications.

After A-Levels in English Literature, History and Maths with Statistics, I went to the University of Manchester. There I did a BA (Hons) degree in English Language and Latin, for which I achieved a II.1, and a first in the dissertation.
I then returned much closer to home to get an MSc (Conversion) in Computer Science from the University of Kent at Canterbury.
Continuing my tour of the UK (!) I obtained an MSc (Two Year) in Social Statistics from the University of Southampton.

- How much do you charge?

I charge £29.00 an hour. Discounts may be available for this depending on your circumstances.

Reduced rates may also be given for lessons longer than one hour, children who have their lessons consecutively, or group lessons.

- Where do you teach?

I teach you in the comfort of your own home. I teach in Green Street Green, where I live, Orpington, Chelsfield, Farnborough (Kent), Bromley, Keston, Knockholt, Dunton Green, Beckenham, central Grove Park, central Sevenoaks, Hither Green and Central London.
I'm willing to travel up to 30 miles away, provided that the place is easily reached by public transport.

- When are you available?

Although I do teach on evenings throughout the week, these slots tend to get very booked up. I also teach during weekdays, and at weekends during the days and evenings.
Term time and school holidays are possible, if they're not already booked up.

- Which ages and levels do you teach?

I have taught from the age of 7 until adult. I'm as happy to teach adults as children.

- Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

I prepare my students for GCSE, A-Levels and degrees.

- Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

For online tutoring, I've a Virgin Media Broadband connection, and a computer with a 20” screen, speakers and a microphone.

I've a Logitech High Definition 1080p webcam, and a Skype account. Using these, I can make video calls.

Background

- What kind of experience do you have?

I was an English as a Foreign Language teacher, mostly for the Centre Laïque du Tourisme Culturel, in spring and summer for 11 years.
I tutored several friends' children in Maths and English for many years; I took on tutoring as my main job in 2010. Since then I've also given one-to-one lessons in History, Latin, University level Statistics, and 11-Plus Verbal and Non-verbal Reasoning.

- Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

I need to update my CRB disclosure certificate.

Rates

Rate for online lessons : £29/h
Lessons offered by Tamara
Individual
In group
The lessons will be held
at her home
at your home
webcam
Taught subjects
  • History
Levels
  • All Levels

Tamara's CV

• B.A. (Hons) Latin and English Language
• M.Sc. Social Statistics

Similar tutors

history lessons closeby? Here's a selection of tutor listings that you can check out.

London
A-level English, History and Law Student Tutoring You in South London !
£10
Lavina
1st lesson free!

I focus on finding a way to make lessons exciting and engaging, no matter how boring the subject may appear. The key is to...

Face to face lessons Approved profile Responds within an hour
London
Experienced and qualified teacher of Philosophy and 11+ examination prep based in London
£40
Ed
1st lesson free!

I provide tuition to Primary pupils preparing for school entrance examinations through to A level students preparing for...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
London
First-Class History Graduate, Warwick University, tutors History/ English Literature and Language A-level and GCSE pupils in London area
£19
Elizabeth
  • (1 review)
1st lesson free!

Hello! I'm Lizzy, a History Graduate (First-Class) from the University of Warwick, undertaking a Masters at London School...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Bromley
King’s college grad, straight A*s currently teachIng ancient and modern History at independent school
£15
Claire
1st lesson free!

Can be versatile. Use a variety of methods to adapt to each individual depending on what they find the most effective.

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
New Addington
Teacher,   researcher, facilitator, mentor the ability to engage learning wi
£50
Paige-Patric
1st lesson free!

Can independendantly write model,Carryou the the teaching content, ability to engage the e=learning within the learning...

Face to face lessons Approved profile
Bexleyheath
History PhD graduate offering History and Study Skills tutoring sesions in London
£50
Dr Alex
1st lesson free!

I'm an experienced teacher and I really enjoy helping students to become more confident in expressing their ideas, and in...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
London
Friendly History/Drama Graduate teaching History and various other courses online and London
£20
Elizabeth
1st lesson free!

I understand students learn in various different ways and I'm willing to help you in which way makes things easier for you...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Kenley
David - Kenley - History
£20
David

I have a realistic view of the capabilities of pupils and will give a real idea of their capabilities. - Which subject(s)...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile Responds within an hour
at her home at your home By webcam
1 hour £29 £29 £29
Reserve a lesson