Homepage
Tutoring Jobs
London 
London 
  • (10 reviews)
Z
Zhiyu
« Tracey is an excellent tutor, who provided me with so much help... More »
Z
Zhiyu
« Tracey is an excellent tutor, who provided me with so much help throughout my application process. While editing my application essay, instead of just pointing out areas of improvement, Tracey actually spent a great amount of effort to communicate with me, hoping to know my thoughts behind every single sentence before providing insightful suggestions. I love the final essay produced - it is truly a piece of my personal voice! Besides, Tracey’s experience and solid academic foundation in the field of education are just remarkable. As we prepared for my Cambridge interview, she was always able to provide astute observation of the recent education trend and relevant news. I enjoyed our conversations tremendously, and the issues we discussed helped me eventually during my actual interview. During the 2020-2021 admission cycle, I received offers from UCL, Manchester as well as my dream university Cambridge to read educational psychology. I know I could never have done so without Tracey’s dedication and help. If you are looking for a passionate, experienced tutor in writing or interview preparation, I would recommend Tracey with all my heart. »
£55/h
1st lesson free!
Profile and degree verified
Response Time 3h
Lessons offered by Tracey Yani
  • Individual
The lessons will be held
Taught subjects
  • Academic tutoring
  • Methodology
Levels
  • GCSE
  • AS Level
  • A Level
  • BTEC
  • Adult education
  • Undergraduate
  • Masters
  • Diploma
  • Doctorate

Oxford PhD Graduate offers lessons in Research Methodology (Online Research, Literature Review, and Qualitative Research) and a range of social science subjects

Methodology

My teaching style is very much student-centred and I have always tried to tailor my lesson plans according to the needs and interests of the students.

Experience

I received my doctoral degree (Doctor of Philosophy) from the Department of Education, University of Oxford. Previously I attained my Bachelor's degree from the University of Oxford, reading Mathematics and Education Studies and Master's degree from the University of Oxford, reading Comparative and International Education.

I have had plenty of experiences tutoring many aspired A-level, undergraduate, and graduate students in writing dissertations, completing assignments as well as producing personal statements and research proposals as part of university applications to many prestigious universities in the UK for the last 8 years. I have also offered tutorials in developing both research and writing skills to enhance the quality of students' reports and/or dissertations.

In terms of research, I have experience conducting both quantitative and qualitative research. I am most familiar with the case study research method and qualitative data analysis. I have led many independent academic and policy-making projects in the field of education and social policy.

Rates

Rate for online lessons : £55/h
Rate for 5 hours of lessons : £260
Rate for 10 hours of lessons : £510
Lessons offered by Tracey Yani
Individual
The lessons will be held
at her home
at your home
Taught subjects
  • Academic tutoring
  • Methodology
Levels
  • GCSE
  • AS Level
  • A Level
  • BTEC
  • Adult education
  • Undergraduate
  • Masters
  • Diploma
  • Doctorate

Tracey Yani's CV

2015-Present Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Education, University of Oxford
Working title on Thesis: “What is the role of schools in educating for Unity-in-Diversity in Indonesia?” Supervised by Dr Nigel Fancourt and Dr David Johnson
2010-2011 Master of Science Comparative and International Education, University of Oxford
Modules studied: Theoretical, Methodological and Systemic Studies, Education in Developing Countries, Foundations of Educational Research (Distinction)
Dissertation: “Chinese Indonesians post 1998: an exploratory study of educational policies and practices to promote positive inter-ethnic relationships in Medan area, Indonesia” (Qualitative approach). Supervised by Dr Alis Oancea
2007-2010 Bachelor of Arts Mathematics with Education Studies, University of Cambridge
(Upper Second)
Modules studied:
• Mathematics: Differential Equations, Probability, Dynamics, Numbers & Sets, Groups, Vectors & Matrices.
• Education Studies: Psychology of Education, Philosophy of Education, Sociology of Education, History of Education, Language, Literacy and Communication, Educational Inclusion and Diversity.
• Mathematical Reasoning and Mathematics Education
Dissertations:
• Mathematics: “Vector Calculus and Its Application”. Supervised by Dr Cathy Smith
• Psychology of Education: “Applicability of Self-Determination Theory in a Collectivistically Oriented Society: A Research of High School Students‟ Motivation in Indonesia” (Quantitative and Qualitative approach). Supervised by Dr. Ros McLellan
2005-2007 GCE A Level, Concord College, Shrewsbury, UK
A Levels: Mathematics (A), Further Mathematics (A), Physics (A)
AS Level: Spanish (B)

ACADEMIC EXPERIENCES
Mar-Jul 2016 Research Member from the University of Oxford for Education Project, funded by the Centre on Religion & Geopolitics, Tony Blair Faith Foundation
• Main researcher for the Indonesian case study;
• Method: documentary analysis and collecting data through interviews and questionnaires with students and teachers in a total of four schools in Jakarta and Medan. Analysis using N-vivo.
• The project looks to assess education systems worldwide on the treatment of minorities and ‘others’, the creation of identity, and the development of critical thinking
July- Sept 2014 Research Assistant for Assistant Professor Dr Chang Yau Hoon, Singapore Management
University
• Conducted literature search on misappropriation of funds by religious organisations and their links with businesses in Indonesia, based on English and Indonesian online media sources.
• Conducted literature search on the recent role of Chinese Indonesians in Indonesian politics, based on English and Indonesian online media sources.
July-Aug 2014 Research Assistant for Postdoctoral Fellow Charlotte Setijadi, Ph.D., Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
• Conducted literature search on Chinese soft power diplomacy and Chinese Indonesian involvement in China-Indonesia relations, focusing on Indonesian newspaper search over the last year.


ACADEMIC AWARDS
• Full Scholarship Award from Indonesia Endowment Fund for Education (LPDP) for Doctoral Study (Doctor of Philosophy in Education) at the Department of Education, University of Oxford (October 2015-October 2018)
• Presented with a degree of Master of Arts from the University of Cambridge (congregated 29 March 2014)
• 3-year bursaries from Cambridge Overseas Trust of the total of £ 18000 to read BA Mathematics and Education Studies at the University of Cambridge, UK (September 2007 - June 2010)
• United Kingdom Senior Mathematical Challenge Silver Certificate (November 2005)
• AEA Mathematics: Distinction (July 2006)
PROFESSIONAL WORK EXPERIENCES
2011-Present Member of Board of Directors, Yayasan Perguruan Sultan Iskandar Muda, Medan, North Sumatera, Indonesia ((concealed information)
The educational foundation was established with the aim of providing good quality education to every child regardless their social backgrounds. More specifically, it has missions to eradicate poverty and promote harmonious relations between people of different racial, cultural and economic backgrounds. My role and responsibilities in the foundation include:
• Developing and enhancing school programmes to meet the school vision and mission.
• Overlooking the development and implementation of multicultural education to ensure that educational practices are done effectively to reach equity.
• Assessing the performances of both teachers and students to improve the quality of teaching and learning in the school.
• Being responsible for the “Sofyan Tan Scholarship” programme; awards presented to talented young people pursuing post-secondary education.

8-12 Dec 2014 Interpreter and Liaison Officer, Analytical and Capacity Development Partnership –
Training of Indonesian Trainers on Teaching Methodology of Islamic Religious Education, a Joint Project of Oxford Policy Management Ltd, the Ministry of Religious Affairs of Republic of Indonesia, and the Department of Education, University of Oxford
• Assisted in providing consecutive interpreting services from/to Indonesian-English for Indonesian delegates of 30 religious education teachers and 10 education officials participating in the training with the Department of Education, University of Oxford
• Liaised and coordinated with OPML consultants on the logistical arrangement of the training, especially during the school and institution visits.


ORGANISATIONAL AND VOLUNTARY WORK EXPERIENCES
Oct 2017-Present Head of Education Research Division, Overseas Indonesian Students' Association Alliance
• Leading the division primary project on the writing of white paper report as part of policy recommendation for Indonesian government on strategies to develop literacy skills in Indonesia
• In charge of the running of monthly Education Webinar
Sept 2016-Oct 2017 Committee in Research and Strategic Studies Division, Indonesian Student Association in the United Kingdom (PPI UK)
• Coordinator of Education Indonesian Scholars Forum, a networking hub for Indonesian students and Indonesianists in the UK studying and having interest in education
Oct 2015-Present Head of the Education Research Team, Forum Generasi Sinergi
• Recruiting an education research team of 10 people, working together on educational research projects, focusing on aspects of comparative and international education, as enquired by the Ministry of Education in Indonesia
• Managing the project timeline and overseeing the research projects

10 reviews on Tracey Yani
  • 5/5

All our ratings are collected by us and are given in confidence, they correspond to a real experience.

10 recommendations

Z
Zhiyu

Tracey is an excellent tutor, who provided me with so much help throughout my application process.

While editing my application essay, instead of just pointing out areas of improvement, Tracey actually spent a great amount of effort to communicate with me, hoping to know my thoughts behind every single sentence before providing insightful suggestions. I love the final essay produced - it is truly a piece of my personal voice!

Besides, Tracey’s experience and solid academic foundation in the field of education are just remarkable. As we prepared for my Cambridge interview, she was always able to provide astute observation of the recent education trend and relevant news. I enjoyed our conversations tremendously, and the issues we discussed helped me eventually during my actual interview.

During the 2020-2021 admission cycle, I received offers from UCL, Manchester as well as my dream university Cambridge to read educational psychology. I know I could never have done so without Tracey’s dedication and help. If you are looking for a passionate, experienced tutor in writing or interview preparation, I would recommend Tracey with all my heart.

G
Gayoung

Tracey is an excellent tutor who I am happy to recommend.
She explains things in detail and easily understandable language. She is a very patient and her lesson is well-structured. Thank you Tracey!

N
Nicole

Tracey is a professional and knowledgeable tutor. She has helped me tremendously in my dissertation preparation, giving good tips and step-by-step advice on how to improve my essay. Always friendly and dependable, Tracey is definitely the best choice as a tutor if you want to improve your grades. Highly recommend!

S
Shze Hui

Tracey is a wonderful tutor! She has given me much more confidence in my bahasa skills, and she has such a bright and cheerful personality that learning with her is always a pleasure. I’m very glad that we met and would not hesitate to recommend her to others!

M
Menatulla

I contacted Tracey because I had problems with my dissertation. She was very nice and professional. We met twice till now and I actually I already feel a huge progress in my comprehension to the material and my approach. She is very knowledgeable and knows how to assist.
She is very punctual and available through skype or face to face meetings which give flexibility in the timing.
Totally recommend her

H
Han

Tracey is professional, caring, easy to talk to, and always goes the extra mile. She tailors the sessions to meet your goals and she delivers. She creates excellent ambience where productive discussion takes places. It feels like two friends having a great work studying together. She explains complex issues at the right level and having graduated at both University of Cambridge and Oxford, she has been an inspirational tutor.

R
Ryaisha

Tracey is a very good tutor. She's a person that is easy to get along with. Her teaching methods was easy to understand especially when you don't have the confidence and proper background knowledge

E
Emma

Tracey is an amazing teacher and a truely lovely person. She identifies exactly what is needed to improve my language skills and I would highly recommend her. I LOVE my lessons :)

J
Jeffrey

Tracey was honest and helped me with my thinking process for my dissertation . I highly recommend Tracey to anyone writing a master thesis or PhD.

V
Valerie

Amazing tutor! Very knowledgeable of many subjects and works at the student’s pace ! I’ve made a new friend in Tracey .
She was always on time and always available for discussion outside of scheduled meeting times .
Strongly recommend her

Similar tutors

academic tutoring lessons closeby? Here's a selection of tutor listings that you can check out.
Superprof can also suggest methodology lessons to help you.

London
Social sciences postgraduate with professional experience offering tutoring in social sciences and the guitar in SE London
£25
Ismail
1st lesson free!

I am patient with my students and like to uniquely approach each and every single one of them based on my personal...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
London
Student at ESCP Business School and City University teaches Maths and French in London
£15
Elliot
1st lesson free!

Je partage de très bons conseils de méthodologie pour organiser son travail et afin de réussir plus facilement. Ma...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
London
Oxford University graduate - Tutoring 11+ and a range of subjects up to common entrance level - London based
£35
Alexander
1st lesson free!

My approach to tutoring is based on my own intense innate curiosity, and supplemented by my extroverted and open-minded...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
London
Engineering and Italian PhD with 5 years of experience offering academic tutoring in London
£30
Anna
1st lesson free!

Depending on the level and the subject, I help the student solving any issue he/she might have had with homeworks or...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
London
Undergraduate and postgraduate tutor, highly experienced in helping students overcome barriers to success.
£35
Maria
1st lesson free!

I love learning and feel that passion is the best way to succeed at degree level. I am particularly passionate about working...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
London
Academic fellow in Construction, Engineering, Project Controls, Operations & Supply Chain offers to support your Undergraduate & Postgraduate study.
£33
Gokhan
  • (6 reviews)

I give lessons to Undergraduate, Postgraduate, Career level. I shape my study with my students and create a schedule that...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
London
Philosophy student offering tutoring in English, Philosophy, Politics and History in London
£15
Zavina
1st lesson free!

I base my teaching method according to you! So if you're more of a listening learner I'll tailor teaching to audio and...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
London
Fully qualified primary school teacher with seven years experience available for school pick ups and one to one tuition of all primary subjects. I also teach early years and across the primary age ran
£30
Andrine
1st lesson free!

I always teach engaging lessons that start with a hook, something to spark interest in a child at their level. I set high...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
London
My names Sinead, I have studied both Fine Art and Visual Anthropology at Masters level. I have a strong knowledge of the Social Sciences and Arts can offer help with research technique, Writing skills
£25
Sinead
1st lesson free!

I use a person centered approach, so each student will be slightly different. We will figure out what methods and techniques...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
London
Private tutor offering English, Philosophy, History, Anthropology, Politics (or related) classes/preparation/proofreading in London
£50
Farya
1st lesson free!

My teaching method is to focus on central themes and streamline ideas in order to affect focus clarity and precision. I...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Greater London
I am medical student providing GCSE Mathematics support. I have designed a system which will work to support my students as they progress through school.
£20
Ibrahim
1st lesson free!

My teaching style relies heavily on visualisation and application to the real world. I use real world analogies, depending...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
London
Extra ordinary,professional, committed international, English tutor, with capability of all subjects in EYFS-KS3
£25
Lorna
1st lesson free!

It all depends on the educational philosophy and the child's needs. Because one size doesn't fit all, i am careful to adapt...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
London
I am Dr of Social Sciences with specialization in Research Method at the BA, MA and PhD levels.
£50
Dr John
  • (3 reviews)
1st lesson free!

My teaching methods based on powerpoint, going through some readings [optiona] and provide students detailed feedback....

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
London
Political Science, Sociology, Anthropology, Research Methodology, Gender Studies and Law: BA, MA and PhD
£50
Dr John
  • (3 reviews)
1st lesson free!

I am a well-prepared tutor and construct my teaching method in terms of student's needs and learning ability. Most of the...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
London
Hardworking and Passionate year 12 English literature ,business and economics A-level student
£15
Mordy
1st lesson free!

My teaching methodology is clear, concise and helpful. I am able to assist students in covering their syllabuses and...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile Responds within an hour
London
PhD student in London with teaching experience in academic writing, Anthropology, Politics
£35
ZORA
1st lesson free!

My teaching method is about creating a learning environment.I prepare reading lists and discussion questions in advance....

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
London
UCL economics student gives lessons of any subject in London, at home or online
£20
Anna
1st lesson free!

My teaching method varies depending on the student’s needs. I always try to make students as comfortable as possible with...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
at her home at your home By webcam
1 hour £55 £55 £55
5 hours £260 £260 £275
10 hours £510 £510 £550
Book a class