Homepage Help
Help Tutoring Jobs
£15/h
1st lesson free!
Tutor profile verified
Response Time 1h
Lessons offered by George
  • Individual
  • In group
The lessons will be held
  • at your home
Taught subjects
  • Maths
Levels
  • Secondary
  • AS Level

Teaching maths, physics and Spanish (latter to GCSE, rest to A Level standard)

Methodology

Recent Cambridge maths graduate looking to teach nearby students. I live in Romford, Essex and can travel up to 1hr every day, further negotiable. I can teach maths, further maths and physics to A level standard and Spanish to GCSE standard.

When teaching I like to make sure my students have absorbed what I have said and will be able to tackle similar problems in the future using the same techniques.

Background

I'm new to teaching but have managed to do it all my life, by helping friends and family understand things. Rather than just give people answers I like to show them WHY the right answer is the right answer, so they can answer similar questions in the future.

Rates

Rate for a 1-hour lesson. : £15/h
Lessons offered by George
Individual
In group
The lessons will be held
at your home
Taught subjects
  • Maths
Levels
  • Secondary
  • AS Level

George's CV

GEORGE BOUVERIE

PROFILE

I’m a Cambridge Maths graduate who graduated summer 2016. Topics on my course included linear algebra and mathematical analysis, with my favourite being probability theory.

Recently I've been doing manual work, including a time spent at a recycling centre and some time working in housekeeping at various hotels. I've also worked 2 months for a company called Fresh Foods in Dagenham, helping provide quality food to UK restaurants.

In my spare time I am learning C# with Unity since I would like to get into a programming - related role, ideally in games design.
I have several months experience as a lifeguard, with my job involving safeguarding swimmers and testing the pool water. As part of my training I had to learn first aid and rescue techniques.

In the past I’ve volunteered for two charities: Barnardo’s and a charity called Fledglings in Saffron Walden. The latter helped supply products for disabled children.

I can speak Spanish and can read and write it well. I enjoyed Spanish at A-level and since then I’ve been reading Spanish books to improve my vocabulary. I’m also teaching myself to code (I already know MATLAB).

PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE

Food Picking
Fresh Foods, Dagenham: September 2017 - November 2017

I worked food picking for a while where I had to work quickly and reliably.

Veolia, Chigwell: April 2017 - September 2017

I got this job via my agency, Grapevine. My main duties were to supervise members of the public and to keep the site clean. Often I would be expected to work as part of a team to ensure the smooth running of the site, e.g. by roping up rubbish containers so that they could be collected by trucks.

Lifeguarding
Everyone Active, Hornchurch: October 2012 – June 2013

To work at Everyone Active as a lifeguard I had to obtain and refresh my NPLQ qualification, which involved me doing water-based physical tasks like rescuing dummies from the bottom of the pool. I also learned CPR. I had to learn to work as part of a team in case we had to respond to any emergencies, but luckily there were none in my time there.

Volunteering
Fledglings Charity, Essex ((concealed information) June 2015 – October 2015

Fledglings is a Saffron Walden- based charity that specialises in finding equipment for children with breathing difficulties.
Responsibilities:
Assisting with general day-to-day administrative tasks, like sorting post
Having product knowledge to successfully match clients with products
Searching for schools and organisations that might benefit from the charity (marketing)
Liaising with local companies

Barnardo’s Charity Shop, Essex ((concealed information) December 2015

Barnardo’s is the largest charity in the UK and tries to help the young and the vulnerable. My duties here included:
Working in the store room to keep the business flowing
Arranging products for sale to avoid the shop going out of stock
Interacting with customers

EDUCATION AND TRAINING

The University of Cambridge (Homerton College): October 2013 – June 2016
Degree in Mathematics

Many topics of study, like mathematical analysis and linear algebra
Our coursework needed MATLAB, a scientific programming language
The Coopers’ Company and Coborn Sixth Form, Upminster: September 2011 – June 2013
AS level: Maths A*, English Literature A, Spanish B, Physics A
A level: Further Maths A*, English Literature A, Spanish C, Physics A
Marshalls Park School, Romford: September 2006 – July 2011
· 11 GCSEs grade A* to B including English and Maths
· Core IT pass
· Grade A in the Free Standing Maths Qualification (FMSQ)

INTERESTS AND ACHIEVEMENTS
· Member of MENSA
· Former member of the Cambridge University kickboxing squad - in 2016 I competed against Oxford.
· Lover of books and literature, including Spanish literature
· Interest in coding and programming
· Proficiency in Spanish

Similar tutors

maths lessons closeby? Here's a selection of tutor listings that you can check out.

Greater London
Mechanical Engineering - Mathematics & Physics - London- Summer 2017 (ALL AGES)
£25
Engil
  • (1 review)
1st lesson free!

I am a student at the University of Glasgow currently studying Mechanical Engineering with Aeronautics. I achieved...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Romford
Maths Tutor Romford | Physics Tuition Havering | E London
£25
Gabriel
  • (1 review)

I am a 3rd-year engineering student at Queen Mary University and am full of handy tips for acing GSCE and A-Level exams,...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Greater London
I teach Maths and science in London/ essex and a Pharmacology Grad now studying at UCL
£20
Peace
1st lesson free!

I try to tailor the lesson to the needs of the student and keep it fun and engaging so as to keep the student engaged for as...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Goodmayes
Kanesalingam - Goodmayes - Maths
£30
Kanesalingam
  • (2 reviews)

To all my students that I have started the September classes for A/L Chemistry - Which subject(s) do you teach? I teach...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Greater London
University of Kent second year mathematic student offering maths lessons to A levels and GCSE students
£12
Chencen
1st lesson free!

i am a Chinese oversea student who studied GCSE and A levels in UK. i want to use summer time to help any GCSE and A level...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Romford
Very experienced teacher based in London / Essex available to tutor exam success.
£50
Damian
1st lesson free!

I teach by having secure subject knowledge, high expectations of each student and understanding of how to prepare for...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Ilford
Experienced Maths and Science Tutor, of 30 years, offering lessons in London
£25
Ruth
1st lesson free!

I use a combination of teaching new materials and also examination practice. I work around the needs of the students and...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Romford
A Qualified Primary school teacher offering maths and literacy lessons in London/Havering.
£20
Georgina
1st lesson free!

My teaching methodology is ensuring I make different learning styles available for all children. I am a tutor in which...

Lessons by webcam Face to face lessons Approved profile
Greater London
A level student // Maths to PRIMARY and SECONDARY students // LONDON ONLY // LIMITED OFFER
£15
Brinel
  • (1 review)
1st lesson free!

I currently am an A-Level student studying Maths, Chemistry and Physics and aim to become an aerospace engineer. I taught a...

Face to face lessons Approved profile
at his home at your home By webcam
1 hour Not available £15 Not available
Reserve a lesson