A quadrilateral is a polygon with four sides.

A quadrilateral has two diagonals.

The sum of the interior angles of a quadrilateral equals 360º.

Types of Quadrilaterals


A parallelogram is a quadrilateral which has parallel sides in pairs. They are classified as follows:


A square has 4 equal sides and 4 right angles.


A rectangle has equal opposite sides and 4 right angles.


A rhombus has four equal sides and equal opposite angles.


A rhomboid has opposite sides that are parallel and equal.


Trapezoids are quadrilaterals with only two parallel sides. They are classified as follows:

Right Trapezoid

A right trapezoid has two right angles.

Isosceles Trapezoid

An isosceles trapezoid has two of its non-parallel sides equal in length.

Scalene trapezoid

A scalene trapezoid doesn´t have equal sides or angles.

Did you like the article?

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)


I am passionate about travelling and currently live and work in Paris. I like to spend my time reading, gardening, running, learning languages and exploring new places.

Did you like
this resource?


Download it in pdf format by simply entering your e-mail!

{{ downloadEmailSaved }}

Your email is not valid